Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I've started packing my part. Hubby is waiting for the elves to do his part.

2005-12-18
1:43 a.m.

Youngest Son is still sick. I was hoping it was a middle-of-the-night-sick bug, but it appears not. He's run some fever today, and hasn't eaten much more than about half a sandwich and two popsicles all day. Please don't let the rest of us (especially Hubby, oh my God, especially Hubby) get this.

I've spent a lot of the day today shredding paper. I'd estimate at least two tall trees worth shredded. Before we moved here 2 1/2 years ago, I planned to clean out a bunch of stuff in my office, but in the end I didn't, and the movers boxed that stuff up.

This time I was determined not to move more unnecessary paper. Unneccessary household crap? Well, I've thinned it some, but still got plenty of it. But my filing cabinets are lean and mean, baby. I couldn't believe I still had income tax records dating back to my first job in a donut shop when I was 16. I don't have them anymore, though. Got rid of several big bags of shredded papers.

Later tonight I started getting together items I don't want moved or that I'll need while we're en route. Made some hotel reservations here in our town (decided to go ahead and splurge on a Residence Inn) for five nights.

I also pulled out my file full of birth certificates, marriage certificate, baptism records, kids' health records, etc. that I don't want the movers handling. Got two separate folders together pertaining to documents about this house and documents about the new house, too.

Tomorrow I'm going to pack up the beads collection as tight as possible for the movers to pack and then clean out my car. By Monday I'll be starting to load some of these items in the trunk, I think.

Also got to get all the laundry done tomorrow, too, and have a laundry-carrying-up party. Everybody hates that party, including me, but I need to get everyone's clothes in their proper places so I can start planning a week's worth of suitcases for everyone.

I will be SO GLAD when I have a one-story house (the new one) so the laundry won't be such a bitch to put up. Hate hate hate hate hate having a laundry room downstairs, and for the last 7 1/2 years I've had that. Why oh why do they not put laundry rooms upstairs where all the laundry is generated????

And before anyone gives me the practical answer, I know, it's a much bigger mess if one leaks in an upstairs area if it's not discovered immediately, but I really suspect it's because of men. Either because it's the men architects designing houses and not thinking about the carrying up (and down) of hundreds of pounds of laundry every year; or that men usually carry the appliances in where they need to go and they don't want to carry them upstairs. No matter which theory you choose, it's all the fault of the men.

Tomorrow, on our last Sunday in our house here, the Saints play Carolina and it'll be on TV. How cool is that?? Course it'd be cooler if they'd win, but we're just happy they'll be on TV, and we're considering it our own personal gift. :)

Over and out.


1 comments so far skibigsky - 2005-12-18 20:49:43
One of the things I love about my house? Master bedroom and laundry room on the same floor. Best. Thing. Ever. Actually, my parents went through a stage of thinking about selling their multi-level house because my mother is having problems negotiating stairs, and when they decided they'd be better off just putting an extension on to their current home, the two big things they added were a first floor master bedroom and laundry room. It's amazing what a difference that makes. Really. Good luck with the moving.
-------------------------------

previous // next