Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Glasses are expensive.

2005-10-24
7:28 p.m.

Ahhh, the joys of having a child with astigmatism. Oldest Son's teacher sent home a note today suggesting we may need to have his eyes checked again. Hubby and I were just talking about that very thing this weekend, as his yearly eye appointment needs to be scheduled for next month.

His glasses, though? They could have been replaced several months ago. Both pairs. In fact, a couple months ago I took his glasses (and him)into an eyeglass shop in Atlanta to get another screw replaced (why can you never find those eyeglass kits with screws and mini screwdrivers when you actually need them?), and the technician actually flinched when I handed her his glasses. Like she'd never seen a nine-year-old boy's glasses before. Or at least not my nine-year-old boy's glasses, anyway.

I always buy the more expensive polycarbon lenses and try to get the bendable frames, because inevitably he's got them in his pocket/bookbag/in his desk at school. Anywhere but consistently on his face.

So I went ahead and scheduled him an appointment after school and after Mad Science tomorrow. I can kiss the extra money this month goodbye. At least we're not started on braces. Yet.


1 comments so far Fi - 2005-10-24 21:30:57
My poor feeble-sighted children all had specs at that age. I was lucky to get a year out of a pair for any of them. You (and the kid) done well to make them last this long.
-------------------------------

previous // next