Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Where is everyone?

2005-10-19
4:11 p.m.

All day (at least since I've been home, around noon) I've been checking Diaryland, hoping to see someone else has updated. Sigh.

Apparently there was a big meeting for the reporters in my freelance job while I was gone. My boss faxed me a recap of it, and I'm just as glad to have missed this one. We did get a page rate increase to $3.75, but sounds like there might have been some ass-chewing going on, too.

Actually, ass-chewing is way too strong of a term, I'm sure. My boss obviously addressed a number of issues that have been making her nuts. She is such a genuinely nice person, though, that I'm sure most people will go right on doing it how they were to begin with.

Out of all of her issues, I only fall into one consistently, and it's a minor one (in my eyes, anyway) which is holding invoices for a couple days, then sending her like ten at once, but I'll try to shape up on it.

Another one I sometimes do is get behind in work, but I only do that when we all are because there's just too much work. Those times it's just understood, and she's never complained to me about it. At least directly, anyway. Hmm...maybe I am one of those who will keep on doing it like I was, too.

Oldest Son got his report card today, and miracle of miracles, he passed Social Studies. Thank goodness he did an extra credit project in it, because I don't see how he passed otherwise. His teacher wrote that she could see improvement in the last half of the nine weeks, but that he still needs to do a better job of studying for tests. Understatement there.

My mom was going to pick up her new car this morning when I spoke with her. *** Edited to Add: I just spoke with my brother, and the driver who transported my mom's new car from Houston to Louisiana dropped a chain on the roof of my mom's car and damaged it. Unbelievable how hard this car-buying business is! The dealership isn't wanting to deal or come down on the price any, just fix it. (And they don't have to, because Camrys, at least, are so hard to come by, they'll fix it and sell it pronto. I'm sure as new, too.) Apparently it's damaged pretty good. My brother advised her not to take it unless they gave her a price break. So she's still in her rental car that she's renting out of her own pocket for about six weeks now. Sheesh. ***

Hubby has changed his travel plan to come home Friday evening instead of late Thursday night now. He sounds like he's really enjoying the break from the kids and the office here, and that's really nice to hear in his voice.

Last night he and his colleague drove out to see his sister and her husband. She made his favorite gumbo, so he was a happy camper. Also Dave, his friend from back home, is offshore out of Houston right now, but Hubby is hoping he'll get back in before Friday so they can catch up with each other. I hope he does, too.

Okay, I've avoided doing some work for about 10 or 15 minutes now writing this. Guess I'll go back to work, since nobody else will come out to play.

Over and out.


1 comments so far Summer Gale - 2005-10-21 13:46:22
Lordy like she didn't have enough problems. I'd be happy if the dealer fixed it but I'd be unhappy if I had to run around to my insurance and auto body shops.
-------------------------------

previous // next