Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Mom's house update

2005-09-13
12:32 p.m.

Thanks to everyone for their comments and e-mails about my mom's house. She'll be okay, but the supportive wishes are muchly appreciated.

Mom and Oldest Brother left North Mississippi yesterday and headed home. My brother's house is fine, and they even have power now. My mom is going to go stir crazy, though, till she gets back to work. This morning she got up and ventured to Wal-Mart to see if she could buy a coffee pot, coffee being her one and only vice, and there were none to be had. My brother and his wife never drank coffee, so didn't have a pot. She improvised by trying to brew some herself through a paper napkin in a strainer. From the sound of it, I don't think it was all that good.

She has no idea when an insurance adjustor may show up at her house. My brother in Jackson has a friend that is a contractor/remodeling man. He mainly does remodels, but has built homes, too. He is coming with my brother down to look at Mom's house next weekend to assess the damage and measure the roof for the necessary roofing supplies. I'm really hoping he agrees to actually do the job, because it would get done so much faster with a dedicated contractor, not one trying to cover so many home repairs. He did tell my brother, though, that it sounds like it may have to be gutted. Sounds like it to me, too.

This afternoon I have a conference with Oldest Son's teacher, much to Oldest Son's dismay. He's earned a conference, though, and I requested from his teacher that he be there as well. She thought that was a very good idea. It seems he doodles through Social Studies, and who knows what the heck he's doing during Science, but it isn't listen and pay attention.

In yesterday's packet of papers there was a slip where students could earn extra credit in Science, Social Studies, and Math. He definitely needs the first two, but his Math score is a B right now, so he told me he didn't think he'd do that. Oh, but I'll make that decision. Guess what he'll be doing all weekend?

I have noticed one thing about his teacher's style of testing. Most tests only have about ten questions or so, some even less. You can't miss much and still have a decent grade. It looks like in her class you either know it or you don't. But it also looks like most of those questions are directly related to the text that was studied during the week before, and some are even worded very similarly. It gives us some idea of how we need to have him study.

Friday night his school is having a popcorn and movie night, and we're supposed to arrive in pajamas, bringing blankets and pillows, and be ready to watch Herbie the Love Bug. Oh, boy. Oldest Son is very excited about the idea, though, so I'm sure we'll go.

Okay then, off to figure out what to wear to the conference and do something with my in-between-growing-out-stage hair. There's just not enough hairspray in this county to shape it up, I'm afraid.

Over and out.


2 comments so far grizmom - 2005-09-13 13:50:22
Hey PC - good luck at the conference. As for why job 2 is always hot - well.. cause I'm fat just ain't cuttin' it. It's actually because the a/c is controlled at corporate. We can't change a thing or believe me sister, we'd be cooling things off in our store too!
-------------------------------
Summer Gale - 2005-09-14 12:59:57
I have no idea how someone would get rid of all that mud. Sounds like a really big job. I feel badly for your mom. Hopefully insurance will pay for everything.
-------------------------------

previous // next