Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

This Makes Me So Furious!!

2005-08-05
3:31 p.m.

I just got off the phone with the office manager from my old office. For seven years she has run that place from top to bottom, kept everything in order, made several office moves, and -- well, I can't even begin to name everything she has done.

Oh, and she's really good at making sure all the reporters that come and go feel like they are the most important superstar reporters, evah! (See why I like her so much? :)

Anyway, she and her husband had a baby girl a couple months ago, their first baby, and she's been out on maternity leave. She's just come back to work, and guess what? My old boss, who I used to have the utmost respect for, has brought in his son to be the new office manager. WTF????

Old Boss also cut her hours to two days a week -- and even worse, he dropped her health insurance. I am just totally blown away. I cannot believe he's done this.

And his son used to be the office manager before she was there, but he's a big flake. He won't stay, I don't believe. Even if he has straightened his life up and he's your son, you don't do this to someone who has given you seven years of their life!!!

Just having a new baby is panic-inducing at best. Not to have health insurance, too? And find out you're replaced? And you're now working two days a week, so you can't even afford day care???? Pass the pharmaceuticals, please.

Gah, this pisses me off so bad. And it disappoints me unbelievably. And it saddens me that she's having to deal with this shit at a time that is already stressful for her and her husband. They should be getting to enjoy all the baby is doing instead of having to worry about what kind of help they can get to bridge this huge gap old boss just opened.

She'll go on and get a new job, and I'm sure a better job, because she's an excellent office manager and has people skills like you wouldn't believe. But she's got to be nice and not burn this bridge while she still needs some recommendations when I'm sure she'd rather do a manual castration on Old Boss. And his son.

Another new mom got the shaft...


4 comments so far grizmom - 2005-08-05 15:57:49
The place I worked for 10 years was that way. You give them all you have but when you ask for a little something back - shafted. Gone-dee. Replaced. What ever happened to feeling secure in your job? When did everyone become a number and so replaceable?? Makes me mad too and I don't know her from Adam. I feel for her.
-------------------------------
skibigsky - 2005-08-05 16:02:59
Shows you how naieve I am - I sort of that that kind of thing was illegal. But obviously not. That's just heinous!
-------------------------------
chocolate chaos - 2005-08-05 18:10:51
i do believe it is illegal.... well, its illegal to drop her hours and benefits, but its not illegal to give her a different position. she should file a complaint with the labor board in your state...
-------------------------------
junkmel1 - 2005-08-05 18:15:53
It probably is illegal, but this is an agency that only has two or three regular employees. All the rest are reporters who are independent contractors. Illegal or not, though, we all know what goes on...
-------------------------------

previous // next