Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

UNO - Hard to make a living at it.

2005-07-29
9:01 a.m.

Oldest Son came in with a new game for us to play last night...UNO. He was so proud of himself, for he was going to teach us something new!

My eyes lit up at the suggestion, because I majored in UNO in college. It's true. Seems a good swap right now, failing American History while majoring in UNO, seeing how I'd be playing it with my son 20 years later. Doesn't it? Oh, hell, I've been trying to justify that poor decision for years, and even this doesn't do the trick. :)

I remember my dad's reaction when that grade came home. Since I was paying my own way through school, I tried to justify to him that I paid for the course, I failed the course, my business. I still remember his exact quote: "I don't give a fat rat's ass who paid for it, you aren't going to college to play cards." And he didn't say it very gently, either.

Hubby and Oldest Son and I played for about an hour and a half last night, and it is still a fun game. I can't wait till we go home again, because my mom loves to play any kind of card game, UNO included, and she's ruthless. She never, ever took it easy on any of us, so I doubt Oldest Son will get any breaks, either.

And now, since I never found a way to make a living using my "major," I must go to work.

Over and out.


2 comments so far grizmom - 2005-07-29 19:19:58
I looked at my profile, but of course, being in the middle of a cornfield, I don't know what all I'm looking for! So, guess it looks good! :) Thank my prettiest cousin!
-------------------------------
Prettiest Friend - 2005-07-30 18:38:32
Two in one day...that's all I'm saying. :)
-------------------------------

previous // next