Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

More rambling family news.

2005-07-10
1:58 a.m.

Debby, I know you're pretty well out of harm's way. And Elizabeth, hope you don't see too much, either. (And that you get to enjoy continuous power in your now clean house.) Sister-in-Law in Pensacola has decided to head west. She and her family were due to arrive in Baton Rouge sometime tonight, and Mother-in-Law is very relieved.

It's actually rained quite a bit in our neck of the woods today, too. And tomorrow is showing signs of the same. I don't mind, because I still have plenty to do, and I seem to work better when it's a dreary, rainy day outside.

We've had a real hang-around-the-house day today. I wheedled Hubby into going to the grocery store and taking Youngest Son with him while I quietly freaked out about what I'm going to wear in the new job. One big bonus to freelancing is you see different clients every day. Consequently, you just don't need as many work clothes. But now I'm going to see the same people day in and day out for a few weeks at a time. They're going to get tired of both my outfits.

So while they were grocery shopping, I was home shopping on QVC. I've ordered a few outfits, so let the praying they fit commence. And that they get here before the 17th.

I haven't been able to bead in a few weekends now, but I did go in and visit my beads in the middle of the night last night. Yup, all present and accounted for. :) I'm just a wee bit obsessed, you know. But now that I've placed the order for new outfits, I've got all kinds of ideas on what jewelry I neeeeed to make before next weekend.

Oldest Brother is getting a new leg very soon. His old one is rubbing blisters, and they've adjusted and adjusted, and now it's been decided to have a redo. I got to hand it to him, he just keeps on plugging away. He's been walking anyway as much as possible. The last two days he's left his wheelchair at home and taken only his walker when he went to the city. That's a giant leap of faith in himself, and I'm so happy for him.

Also, last weekend his wife's family had a big family get-together, and he went. It was hard on him, but it sounds like they were all very happy to see him. He said his mother-in-law just hugged him forever when he walked in, and that makes me tear up just writing it. My sister-in-law's family, and especially her parents, are the salt of the earth. What you see is what you get.

Tomorrow he and one of his friends are going to her best friend's house for a birthday party. This will be his first time there, too, so you can see he's making great headway this month.

He also bought another truck today, which brings him to three now. My mom is fretting that, worrying about him overextending himself -- financially, too, but more physically/mentally/everything. He told me tonight his goal is to be so busy you can only find him by cell phone. I say more power to you, man. Whatever makes you happy at this point.

True, he can't drive his biggest one, because of blind left eye, but he can drive both of the two newest purchases. He's got a lot of faith in the driver he's hired to drive the biggest one. I hope that faith is well-placed. I haven't met him, but he seems to think a lot of him.

Don't know too much more news. We went out and ate Chinese at a new restaurant tonight. That's one less glass bead away from my goal at the top of the page. And after I got Youngest Son in bed tonight we watched "In Good Company." I think that was the name of it. I really enjoyed it. And there's some corporate adjustments in it that had both Hubby and I squirming...much of the same things his company is going through right now.

Over and out.


0 comments so far

previous // next