Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I'm the healthy but whining one.

2005-02-21
8:57 a.m.

Hubby has been out of town for nine days, and is due to arrive at lunch time today. Thank God. He was actually supposed to return Saturday at lunch time, but he got a nasty case of the flu.

I had to change his airplane ticket, but his mom was busy taking care of his juice/homemade chicken soup/Jello/endless amounts of attention needs. She even gave him a bell to ring so he could summon her without straining to try to holler for her. Can you see my eyes rolling into the back of my head? I thought you could.

Today Oldest Son is out of school, but Youngest Son's day care is open. I had every intention of bringing Youngest Son to said day care, because this mama is a.) tired this morning, and b.) wanting a break from the three-year-old behavior I have endured all weekend. Unfortunately, last night right before bed I noticed Youngest Son was definitely getting the pink eye, a fun little thing the day care has been passing around lately.

Lucky for us, both kids have had pink eye numerous times in the past, and I have a bottle of the meds handy to start whenever I see it coming on. They absolutely detest those drops, though, and resist mightily.

So both kids and I will be greeting Hubby at the airport. Due to his recent bout with the flu, I will not be able to get out of the van and go in the airport and purchase a ticket to somewhere anywhere but here, like I want to this morning. In fact, most likely I'll be herding Hubby upstairs, because I don't need the kids getting the flu.

I just hope we're not on that trail already. Oldest Son had a friend spend the night last night, and friend has a lingering cough. This morning Oldest Son is coughing, and I pray it's a sinus drip thing. His friend's mom is a teacher at Oldest Son's school, and she informed me that many of the kids and many of the teachers have been out with the flu, including both of her sons. They've both been back in school now for over a week, but one was out five days and one was out seven days. Can you feel me shuddering from here??? We don't need no flu 'round here!!!

Wow, am I feeling sorry for myself this morning or what? I just want everyone to return to their regularly-scheduled programs and let me get my work done so I can do something fun...please?


0 comments so far

previous // next