Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Catching up

2004-11-28
2:13 p.m.

Sunday afternoon...it's a beautiful day here. We had quite a bit of rain yesterday afternoon and last night, but today is so nice. About 65 degrees and sunny. Perfect weather for putting up Christmas decorations.

My Christmas decoration putter-upper is taking a well-deserved nap right now, though. And I'm attempting to ignore Youngest Son's hollering till he takes a nap, too. He thinks if he keeps hollering at me about needing to go to the bathroom again (he's been twice now) or needing a drink again (had two of those, too) that he won't have to go to sleep.

Why is it kids don't like to take naps??? I love 'em!! I took one on the couch for about 30 minutes earlier, and it's just cool enough in the house that you need a blanket. I could have stayed there all afternoon.

Our next-door neighbor came over a few minutes ago to tell me that the popcorn Oldest Son brought over to her the other night is not what she ordered. She said her family really doesn't like caramel corn or chocolatey stuff. Oh. (Who doesn't like caramel corn or chocolatey stuff???) But the chocolate-covered caramel corn is the only kind we have, besides the three-way tins. She knew she didn't order a three-way, and thought she ordered just regular popcorn. Uh-oh. I guess Oldest Son wrote it in the wrong column.

I offered to buy it back from her, but she said no, she'd give it away as a gift maybe. I told her it would be a tasty gift for someone who likes that kind of stuff, because we've really enjoyed ours. As has everyone else who ordered it. Besides the three-way tins and a huge box of microwave popcorn to my mom, everything else Oldest Son sold was the chocolate popcorn.

Last night we went out to eat Chinese food and then went to the local park that has a huge Christmas lights display. The only thing missing was eggnog daiquiris. Oh how we miss our eggnog daiquiris. The lights were fabulous, though, and both kids were as wowed as we were. One really nice thing about this light display versus the one back home is after you pay your $10 to get in, you can go around the park as many times as you want.

This morning we went to 8:30 Mass, then headed over to Wal-Mart to do some grocery shopping. By 11:00 we were back home and groceries were put away. Now I'm wasting time, trying to put off the inevitable, a bunch of work that needs done.

Brother news: Mike walked across my mom's living room (and back!) five times Thurday when his therapist was there. Next week they're going to start working on bending the knee in his prosthesis. He was hoping to be home by Christmas, but I really don't think he will be. Maybe sometime in January, I hope.

Randy and the kids went to visit his wife's family in Texas for Thanksgiving, and they're coming back home sometime today. Last Thanksgiving his wife's parents insisted all four kids and their families come home for Thanksgiving, no ifs, ands, or buts were accepted. Randy really thought maybe one of her parents was ill and was waiting to tell everyone when they had them all home together. That didn't turn out to be, but it was the last Thanksgiving they would have all together. You just never know.

Okay, I have got to make myself do some work now.


0 comments so far

previous // next