Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Did someone say NASCAR?

2004-11-18
1:29 p.m.

Hubby and Oldest Son went to the NASCAR race last weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The company Hubby works for sponsors one of the cars, and the employees were treated to charter buses to and from the race, a hospitality tent while they were there, and grandstand seats. OS got to meet the driver, ask questions, and he was thrilled.

They had to get up at 4:45 that morning to make it to the buses, and they didn't get home till almost 11:00 that night. Hubby had a great time, too, until just as they were arriving back in the parking lot that night OS sat up from a deep sleep and vomited. Yikes! Guess the day was just a little too much for him.

We let him miss school the next day, and I made an eye doctor appointment for him. His eyes are worse, and he had to have a new prescription.

Then we went back to Hubby's work where we ate a catered lunch and where the race car driver and the car were available for all the employees and their families to see. The driver also gave a short speech and answered many questions. Also, signed collector cars were passed out to the employees as well. Oldest Son is a fan now.

I have to admit, I didn't care the first whit about going, but OS was too excited about it not to bring him. I was glad I went. The driver was very personable and handsome. Very, very handsome. And young. I may have to start watching NASCAR. Naaaah.

Tonight we're having dinner with a couple of corporate people from Hubby's job. All of us. Both boys, too. Tuesday evening Hubby told me we'd be going, and asked where I'd like to go. While he was telling me this, I was making Youngest Son get off the counter (headed for the Halloween candy again) for about the third or fourth time that evening, and I snapped that if they wanted to take all of us out, the only place I'd consider going is Chuck E.'s.

What an asinine suggestion. I reflected on it the next morning and quickly fired off an email to Hubby telling him no, no, no, I don't mean it.

We're going to an Italian restaurant close to us instead, where the kids can eat pizza. And I'll bring a giant bag of crayons for the youngest to sit and peel while we're there. He's just not restaurant-ready most of the time yet. At least not with guests, too. We're used to his antics.

Mike got his new leg last Thursday, and yesterday he was able to walk across my mom's living room and back for the first time. Do I need to mention how this makes my heart sing? I didn't think so. I am so excited for him, and I wish I could be there to see. He has more gumption in him than I ever dreamed.

Okay, got to end this exciting entry and get some work done before Oldest Son comes home from school.


0 comments so far

previous // next