Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Rambling family news

2004-11-12
5:08 a.m.

Ahhhh, Friday. Love this day! I have a lot to do today, but still...two guaranteed days off make me smile.

Saturday night we are getting a babysitter (!) and going out to eat. I wish I could say it was just Hubby and me going out to eat, but it's a company bigwig in from out of town that is taking us and four other couples out to eat. We're going to a nice restaurant, and I'm sure we'll enjoy it, but right now I'm not looking forward to it so much. Hubby and I so rarely have time to talk without one or another kid talking to us at the same time that it seems a shame to have to share the night with a bunch of other folks, too.

Next month is our anniversary, though, and I'm going to get a sitter one night for us to go out. The symphony is going to play a Christmas program at our church, and I'm going to try to get us tickets for that. The priest announced it last weekend, and said the parishioners would be offered first choice on the tickets, and then they would be offered on Ticketmaster. The church is big, but it doesn't seem that big to me. Guess we better jump on the chance.

The church has a fabulous organ that is obviously pretty new to the church. (We're new to this church, so we don't know all the history.) A month or so ago they were having a Sunday night organ recital just to show it off to everyone, and we've heard lots of people rave about that recital. We didn't go, obviously, because to make the kids go back to church again on Sunday night? A punishment worse than death.

Mike got his new prosthesis finally yesterday. He was supposed to get it a week or so ago, but they had to make some adjustments to it. He was extremely bummed when he didn't get to keep it! I talked to him yesterday afternoon and last night, though, and he's really excited about it. He walked two stretches of about 12 feet apiece, and he said it's a whole different way of walking. Mom said it weighs about ten pounds, and was telling me all the features of the knee, etc. Amazing what they can do. His physical therapist is coming again today, and Mike says he's going to have it on and be ready when the therapist gets there.

In other brother news, Randy is supposed to have hernia surgery Dec. 3, but said he was going to postpone it since one of his employees was going to be having surgery for prostate cancer. This employee is apparently a right-hand man, and he doesn't feel like they can both be out at the same time. Mom told me last night she found out he's still got it scheduled.

I may be making a trip the beginning of next month after all. He keeps telling me I don't need to come, that it'll be outpatient, he'll be home that night, one of his friends will pick him up and bring him home, etc., which is all fine and good. I'm still going whenever he has it, be it next month or next year.

I can't imagine not having a relative there to a.) run interference with the kids so he can rest, and b.) God forbid anything else happens to our family and complications arise. So yeah, I'll be there whether he wants me or not. :) I know he'll be relieved I am there, but he doesn't want to make me miss any more work. I have missed a fair amount this year, but what's another few days? His peace of mind is most definitely worth a few days of my time.

Hubby and I have already talked about it, too, and most likely OS would be going with me, and YS would be staying here with him. Well, now. This would be more like a vacation than I thought! I could take YS, but nobody would get any rest and recuperation with him there, too. I might actually get a chance to visit with my brother!

Time to hit the shower and get OS's breakfast started.


0 comments so far

previous // next