Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Going cheap

2004-11-11
12:57 p.m.

Today I am willing to sell OS. One eight-year-old boy, going cheap.

Yesterday afternoon OS and his friend Hunter decided to make a club in our backyard. OS came in looking for the crayons to make a sign. I told him where they were and didn't think twice about it.

Hunter's mom called about an hour later, and I went out to retrieve him, only to discover they had gone in our garage and gotten a can of WD40 and a can of carpet cleaner and used those to "spray paint" their club signs on our wood fence.

The carpet cleaner paintings are difficult to read today. The WD40, oily as it is, is very clear and easy to read. With the WD40 they wrote "help" and "beware" and "die." I'm sure I just caught them before they could get the "no girls allowed" up there. There's also a couple of "drawings" that I'm guessing are maybe supposed to be a skull and crossbones? Who knows.

Of course they wrote these on the street side of the fence, because why do anything half way, huh??? Yes, indeed, we look like the local white trash 'r us family now.

OS has been grounded, and I'm guessing Hunter probably has been, too. OS is not allowed to watch TV, play his Gameboy, play the computer, talk on the phone, or play outside through this weekend. He came downstairs after his shower last night to ask, very meekly, if he would be allowed to draw. I was so mad at him I wanted to say no, but of course he can draw -- on PAPER. Now I feel like I need to clearly qualify everything with him.

He will be helping Hubby this weekend, though. They're going to be pressure washing the fence, for one thing, and hopefully cleaning out the garage, getting some things ready for the day care's garage sale.

We have gone round and round with Oldest Son about messing with stuff that's not his, and especially stuff in the garage. Honestly, I never dreamed at eight years old I would need to put the carpet cleaner and WD40 out of his reach like I would a toddler. And no, he's never gotten into them before, but I didn't think he would do such a thing now, either.

Can you tell we're disgusted and he's in trouble? I thought you could.



0 comments so far

previous // next