Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Deep-Fried recap

2004-11-07
11:37 a.m.

We had a great day yesterday. Started it all off by going to the new Sam's store that opened here a couple weeks ago. I know that sounds like a real good time, doesn't it, but it really was. Both kids were well-behaved and rested, and we enjoyed checking out the new store, and even ate a pizza lunch there that was surprisingly good. Also, had a sample of some kind of apple walnut caramel cake that was out of this world. I would definitely buy that for any kind of gathering I was having.

When we got home I put Youngest Son down for a nap, and he slept for almost three hours. Didn't hurt my feelings! Oldest Son and I watched Shrek 2 and snuggled on the couch. And one of us dozed some...guess which one.

At 5:30 we went to Mass, where again both kids were well-behaved. Both of them were so good all day. YS really, really wants a Communion wafer, though, and has tried to be as cute as possible to get one. Last night he insisted I put him down, and he got in the line right in front of me with his hands held out. The priest patted him on his head and said, "Later, Buddy, later." YS turned around to me and said, "But I still hungry, Mom." Cracked me up so much I could not take any wine for fear I'd choke on it. Every week he heads down to the front of the church with a renewed hope, maybe today, maybe today.

After Mass we went to the fair and had the best time. Both kids (and sometimes hubby) rode a bunch of rides, we played the bowling game, the darts game, the water balloon game, etc. until we came away with two pretty expensive stuffed animals. We also ate there...hubby and I had Italian sausage sandwiches on homemade bread....very tasty. The kids ate their favorite food again...pizza.

At 10:30 we wrapped up our fair trip with a deep-fried Twinkie and a deep-fried Snicker bar, while the kids ate cotton candy.

The Twinkie and Snicker bar were on behalf of Mike. He said he'd always wanted to try those, and if we found them would we try one on his behalf. So we tried them both. :) They also had deep-fried Milky Ways and deep-fried chocolate chip cookie dough.

The Twinkie and the Snicker bar were both on sticks, dipped in some kind of batter and fried, then covered with chocolate syrup and powered sugar. OS wanted to know why they put chocolate syrup and powdered sugar on our corn dogs. And they did look like corn dogs!

The Twinkie was better than the Snicker bar, but both were pretty tasty. Hubby and I both decided, though, that we can say we've tried them now, and we can also both pass on having another one. It's just too much fat and sugar in one place, I guess. Tasty, but....too much.

We were home and showering and bathing by 11:30, and we all fell in bed shortly before midnight. Just a fun, fun day.

Today, Oldest Son has headed off to see The Incredibles with his friend Hunter, and I'm fixing to put YS down for a nap...hopefully another long one today!!I have to work this afternoon, but I don't even mind, because we had such a great day yesterday.

Okay, that's the weekend report...I know, fabulously entertaining reading, isn't it?


0 comments so far

previous // next