Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

What a difference a year makes.

2004-09-19
11:45 a.m.

The kids and I just got home from bringing Hubby to the airport. A week in California at the corporate offices that he is so not looking forward to. He's so aggravated at everything that he's rented himself a very nice hotel room and gone for the nicest rental vehicle, too.

He had to make the same trip last year, and it's noticeable, the differences in how we each feel about this trip. Last year there was a big hurricane (Isabel) with a target on our area, I hadn't received my notary, so I couldn't go to work yet, and since I couldn't work I was afraid to spend any extra money, plus my kids and I were stuck in a state where we hardly knew anyone. But Hubby was excited about his new position and was upbeat about the trip.

This year the kids and I are adjusted and busy in our lives, and Hubby is dreading this trip with every ounce of his being. I think he plans on being a pain in the ass in a few meetings, if my pain-in-the-ass meter is accurate. He did take his favorite bowling ball, though, so the trip won't be a total loss.

I have plans this week to catch up all my work, do a lot of rebilling I need to do, and get rid of 20 things out of my house every single day. Whether I throw them away or donate them to Goodwill, I want 20 things a day to leave. By the time I pick him up on Friday that'll add up to 120 items.

Also, I plan to clean off four flat surfaces in my house that just catch crap. Hopefully finding permanent homes for all the items on top of them now will alleviate this problem. (But who am I kidding? Then there'll be a good spot open to pile more stuff.)

I don't know how I would go on if I lost Hubby, and I absolutely shudder at the thought of losing him, like both of my brothers have lost their wives this year. I do have to admit, though, that a week to work on the house without him underfoot will likely be more successful than trying to do all these things with him home.

A cool front has blown into our neck of the woods overnight, and it feels wonderful wonderful wonderful outside today. One of those days that it's so much more pleasant outside than inside. Unfortunately, it also blew in something that Oldest Son and I are allergic to. Achoo.

I have some funny things to write about the kids, so I'll be back in another day or so. And I plan on checking back in Friday afternoon to update my clean-out-the-house crusade.


0 comments so far

previous // next