Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

A dead Gameboy is tragic, isn't it?

2004-09-14
3:01 p.m.

A bad, bad thing happened last week: Oldest Son's Gameboy stopped working. I know, a real tragedy, huh?

Hubby worked on it, but is pretty sure something's burned up and he won't be able to repair it. It is only about a year and a half old, but it has many, many miles on it, so we can't complain.

To Oldest Son, though, it's worse than losing his right hand. He doesn't know how he'll live without it! Horrors!

The first thing he did was figure out how much money he had and how much it would cost for a new one. Then he started asking how much we would pay him for each chore he completed.

A deal was finally agreed upon between Hubby and OS last Friday night that if he a.) completed all chores asked of him without lip service and done well, and b.) no whining all week about the everyday injustices of life (whyyyy do I have to do my homework, whyyyy do I have to take a shower now, whyyyy can't I watch the rest of this TV show, whyyyy does Little Brother get everything, ad nauseum), then he would add to the money OS already has and they would go buy the Gameboy Saturday.

The turnaround in this child is nothing short of miraculous. All it takes is the word "Gameboy," and he immediately reigns himself back in line. Amazing.

Actually, last Sunday he was doing so well, Hubby wanted to take him to buy the new one that day, but I argued against it...good Lord, a week is not that long. We've got to show him he has to stick to the deal. OS is waking up every morning now wanting to know what day it is, and then counts how many days till the new Gameboy.

In other news, I'm worried about my mom and brother in Louisiana. I've spent most of the morning trying to find a hotel room for them around Jackson, but that's a no go. I've got them on two hotels' waiting lists, but so far I haven't been called. And yeah, Randy is more than willing to take them in, but he doesn't have a good set-up for the wheelchair, and his doors into the downstairs bathroom are definitely too narrow.

As it stands right now, they'll be going to Randy's tonight, though. I was just hoping to find a handicapped room (or even a regular room, for that matter) for them. Ideally, I'd like to be there to drive them up to Jackson. Randy said he'd go pick them up and drive them, but that doesn't make any sense, since the traffic would just be that much thicker as they tried to leave.

Since I can't do anything else for them, I've paced around my house and eaten today. I was scheduled for a 3:00 job, but it cancelled. After I got that phone call I paced some more and ate some more.

Someone remind me why we need hurricanes again? And Elizabeth, I don't know if you're going anywhere, but it's only about 11, 12 hours to my house...you're welcome to come here!


0 comments so far

previous // next