Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

If that's a pumpkin candle, it must be September.

2004-09-01
2:49 p.m.

September just makes me feel like fall is finally here. Yeah, it'll be in the high 80s and 90s for another two months here, but I'm burning the Yankee Pumpkin Pie candle and drinking an afternoon cup of coffee and pretending anyway.

I went to the parents night at Oldest Son's school last night. Out of a class of 20, there were eight parents there. I can't imagine not attending that, because you find out so much about what your child is doing every day. Why just last night I found out my son is A) Not wearing his glasses in class and they are not in his desk where he told me they are; B) Should have been bringing home his homework notebook every night, but since his teacher wrote a note telling me he's been talking too much has not brought it home in three days; and C) Found out if he makes a 95 or better on Thursday's spelling quiz, he's exempt from the Friday test. Guess what he'll be studying on Wednesday nights?

I also found out a little more about his teacher. She's very young and energetic, and this is her fourth year to teach. She seemed to find the glasses controversy amusing and seems to genuinely like my son, which of course I love. She told me twice what good manners he has, which blows my mind since at home he interrupts constantly and is a master in the art of burping on demand.

So far his homework hasn't been nearly as heavy as the second grade homework. I really hope that's a trend.

We are once again watching a hurricane, expected to land somewhere by this weekend. We have spent the last two weekends in hurricane/tropical storm mode, and we do not want another weekend of it! Or actually any stormy weather, please, weekend or not.

Friday and Saturday nights we have a room reserved in Augusta already. Hubby is bowling in a bowling tournament, and the kids and I are going to lounge around the hotel and scout out the Augusta bead shop. Right now we've decided to bring the dog on the trip and are wondering if we need to reserve another night.

Must go do some actual work.


0 comments so far

previous // next