Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Power is my favorite utility

2004-08-29
6:14 p.m.

Tropical Storm Gaston has moved on finally, and we once again have power. In fact, while we lounged around the house today without power, Hubby and I came to the conclusion power is our very favorite utility. You can buy water at the store, you can make calls on your cell phone, you can watch DVDs instead of cable, but you need power for the finer things in life, like AC and the microwave popcorn.

After the worst of it seemed to be over, and after seven hours without power, Hubby and Oldest Son went out to survey the damage and try to find a hot meal. Lo and behold if they didn't find a Burger King open, and they also saw why we had no power. Not a mile from our subdivision there were four power lines and a pine tree down in the highway.

What disappointed Hubby most was the fact there was one cop and one power company worker there. In fact, he said there wasn't even a power company truck there, and it was like the worker was dropped off at the site. The thought of which just cracks me up...let's leave a worker there so it appears we are doing something.

Hubby decided it was time to break out the generator and run a million extension cords to the refrigerator, TV, fans, etc. He hadn't even sat down to enjoy his work when the power came back on. (I appreciate the hard work, honey, really, I do, but you have to admit it's a little bit funny, don't you??)

I just talked to the mom of Oldest Son's best friend, and she says school's on tomorrow as far as she knows. One of our neighboring counties has already officially closed schools for tomorrow. Hopefully our county won't follow suit.

If they close the school, my day care will be closed as well, and my boss and several coworkers have children that attend the already closed schools. I'm scheduled for a 10:00 job that promises to be rather juicy, but obviously that might not go now either. Tomorrow could be a scheduling nightmare or a completely empty day. Hard to say right now.

Fortunately, I didn't go to the bead show in Atlanta this weekend. I was afraid I'd be driving back in stormy weather after dark. Also, I'm pretty glad I wasn't trying to get from Atlanta to home this morning, had the original plan happened. There's no way I could have gotten home before this afternoon, and I would have been plenty nervous for my family here.

Yesterday morning I did go out to a new bead shop I'd found, though, and spent plenty there to make up for not going to the show. Then I ventured on over to Catherine's and bought some new clothes. Nothing like a little shopping therapy to pep you right up!

Edited to Add: Youngest Son and I just came back from a trip to Target. In our travel, we saw two port-o-johns turned over. I can't think of a worse job to do than having to clean up one of those messes. We also saw a tree ripped out of the ground in front of the apartments at the front of our subdivision.


0 comments so far

previous // next