Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Swimming and gossiping

2004-07-13
4:41 p.m.

I knew I was taking a longish depo today...of a professional engineer. Blech. So I didn't go swim this morning, since I would probably fall asleep during the testimony. One that dull requires a full night's sleep.

Four hours, that depo took. Damn. Even worse was how in that four hours I could feel my feet swelling. And when I looked at them...gross.

I came home and put my swimsuit on and went to the gym. I really had to talk myself into it, though, as self really wasn't interested in going back out, much less to exercise.

As I was going into the gym, a lady came walking up the sidewalk toward me, and she was definitely headed for the pool as well. She wore only her swimsuit, a towel wrapped around her waist, and some flipflops. And her cell phone with headset. And she wasn't thin, either.

When I finally changed and went into the pool area, there she sat, talking away into that headset, while eating her McDonald's she'd brought with her. Cracked me right up. But the meter maid in me noticed that she did not adhere to that rule about checking in upstairs and then going downstairs to the pool. Tsk tsk tsk.

The whole 30 minutes I swam (13 laps, in case you're counting), she talked to someone on the other end about how he don't help with the kids, he don't do nice things for her anymore. Hell, she can't even get him to rub her foot for her if her foot hurts. So why would she want to have sex with him anymore? He's a fool if he thinks she's going to be there for him when he don't do nothing for her. Ah, the song all women sing...

She was still on the phone at the end of my 30 minutes, but I didn't need to hang around and eavesdrop anymore. I know all the verses that follow.

Obviously, since she was still on the phone, I didn't get the chance to explain to her she was supPOSED to check in upstairs (nah, I don't have the nerve, but I like to act like I do). In fact, they need me to hang around this gym, because a whole lot of people are breaking that rule about not leaving locks on lockers overnight, too. And oh, yeah, going out the downstairs door, too. Man, I got some work ahead of me to get this place straightened out. :)

And I did finally step on the scale this a.m. Damn. 327 1/2. Oh how that hurts to see that number. Gaining faster than I count these days. Let's hope I can stop it somewhere.


0 comments so far

previous // next