Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

One more exercise try

2004-07-08
7:04 a.m.

Tuesday evening I mentioned to the hubby that my Curves membership was about to expire, and I didn't plan on renewing it. Instead, I suggested, I'd like to try the gym he belongs to, as it's close to the house, opens at 5:00 a.m., doesn't close till 10:00 p.m., and has a pool. All things that I'm sure would inspire me to exercise! Or at least swim.

Tuesday evening about an hour later, hubby was at said gym, adding me to his membership. Hmm....guess he really does want me to lose weight. His membership is $29 a month, and it's only an extra $20 to include me. Not bad. We save $10 a month over Curves, and it's closer and open earlier and later. Not bad.

This morning I rousted myself at 5:00 and headed to my first swim. Oh. My. God. My arms are asking, "WTF??!" My legs, they are quivering. I forgot what a workout swimming can be. Fortunately hubby had to leave for work no later than 6:00 this morning, so at 5:45 I got myself back out of the pool, happy to need to leave.

I swam a total of 30 minutes and completed 12 laps. And I forgot my goggles and hate chlorine eyes with such a passion that all 12 of those were done in either breast stroke or back stroke.

When I was leaving the locker room I noticed they have aquacise classes at the pool nearly every day at some time or another, so I may try one of those soon. I always thought that sounded fun, but never have tried it.

There was a scale in the women's locker room, and I contemplated stepping on it before getting in the pool, but talked myself out of it. Since I weighed myself at mom's house last week (before jumping off as fast as humanly possible because that did hurt), I know what neighborhood I'm in. Also, I'm telling myself I will just swim and enjoy it, and not get all into the weighing daily and counting every bite going in my mouth. At least not yet. :)

Right now I'm tired enough to go back to bed, but instead I'll finish my coffee and wake the boys shortly. Maybe swimming will make these stairs at my house easier after a while! Or maybe limber me up enough to paint my toenails without it being an aerobic activity!


0 comments so far

previous // next