Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Weight Watchers report and Halloween, too.

2007-11-04
9:44 p.m.

Five weeks into my latest relationship with Weight Watchers has earned me a loss of 15 pounds. Mind you those 15 pounds have many more friends to go, but I'm psyched. For today. I run hot and cold on this whole dieting thing.

Today I've spent the whole day losing weight, from reading recipe after recipe to hanging out on the WW message boards.

I've been on Weight Watchers many times in my life (my mom was a lecturer for a lot of years while I was growing up), and once in my twenties I was very successful on it. I lost pretty fast that time, but I also exercised nearly every day and only had myself to worry about feeding and taking care of. Dieting when you're 40+ with a family is a whole different kind of animal.

***************************************

Last night the kids and I went to a Halloween party that was the most Martha Stewartish thing I've ever been to. There was a costume contest and wrap the mummy game, a haunted house on their screened-in porch, great food, fabulous decorations, and a hell of a hay ride at the end. Everything was just so cute and well planned.

The party was being thrown by Youngest Son's soccer coach at his mom's house for his six-year-old son's friends for the first couple hours. There followed a second party for his middle-school-aged niece's friends (to which Oldest Son was invited), which overlapped the six-year-old's party. It really worked out well, because by the time the middle-school-aged kids were arriving, it was time for the hay ride.

Poor Oldest Son, he just had to be around for the little kids party, too, because this was out in the middle of the country, and I was not making a special trip back home to get him and taxi his behind back out there. There were a few older kids in that same predicament, so they all judged the costume contest and attempted to scare the younger kids in the haunted house.

The hay ride was the most fun hay ride I've ever been on. The first half of it was akin to a NASCAR event, as the driver weaved all over an open field at a faster speed than I expected. I was sitting on the end of the trailer, and more than once I wished for a seatbelt.

Then we drove into a cemetary and meandered around before the truck "broke down" and we were sitting in the dark, at which time the middle-school kids came flying out from all different directions to do their best to scare us. Youngest Son recognized Oldest Son right away, despite the mask he was wearing, and loudly proclaimed nobody needed to be afraid of him.

One of the older kids chased the driver around the truck and trailer a couple times before the driver made a great show of banging around, trying to get the truck working again, before zooming out of there (seatbelt, really wished I had a seatbelt), leaving the older kids (and their accompanying adults) behind, pretending to stab each other. I don't know who had more fun, the kids or the adults.

Like I say, I've been on hay rides before, but that was the best one yet.

After the hay ride, the little kids' party time was up, and the middle-schoolers were busting out the dance music on the huge patio. I left Oldest Son there, and Youngest Son and I came on home, heading back later to retrieve him.

I was in such a funky mood yesterday afternoon, and just did not want to go to this party, but it was too late...both kids already knew about it. :) By the evening's end, though, I was so glad we'd gone.

***************************************

As for Halloween here at our house last week, I was actually awaiting the verdict in a murder trial in another town (guilty verdict) on Halloween night, so Hubby decorated the house and carved the jack-'o-lantern and then took the boys trick-or-treating, too. He did a fabulous job of all of it, and they all had a great time, too.

Next up, Thanksgiving! I love this time of year!

Over and out.


7 comments so far Heather - 2007-11-05 09:08:59
I'm exhausted just thinking about the effort they must have put the two parties. I don't have the motivation and creativity to ever wrangle up something like that!
-------------------------------
webmiss - 2007-11-05 21:19:14
What a great sounding Halloween party. I am so jealous! Hailey and I just stayed home and watched a movie. I have been having a hard time getting into the holiday spirit. Glad you had a safe & happy Halloween!
-------------------------------
Grizmom - 2007-11-05 23:23:57
Nice job on your WW success! I wish I could say the same about my success story, or lack there of. It's flat out depressing for me. Sounds like the party was absolutely the best! But boy, alot of work and planning. How awesome!
-------------------------------
terri - 2007-11-06 16:36:03
congrats on the 15 lbs. that is quite an accomplishment especially with all the holiday food and snacks coming up way too soon. Halloween sounded like it was really fun for everyone.
-------------------------------
Megan - 2007-11-06 17:37:29
Well, I left you this big long message but somehow it just disappeared -- and I'm not going to try to remember what I said -- except congratulations on your 15 pound weight loss. Got any tips to share?
-------------------------------
Paula - 2007-11-06 22:13:21
Well, now that's better. I tuned in using Internet explorer and your page looks just fine. I do use firefox as IE makes my computer sieze up if I stay on it too long. I wonder why Firefox sees your page differently. That Halloween party sounds wonderful...how perfect to be on a hayride in a cemetary...spooky.
-------------------------------
Joan - 2007-11-06 22:18:07
Congrats on the 15 lbs. My 20 year old daughter is bugging the hell out of me to join Weight Watchers with her. This would probably be my 10th time if I did join. I just don't feel like getting in that damn line again.
-------------------------------

previous // next