Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

A character in our story.

2007-10-21
9:55 p.m.

Webmiss left me a note tonight, wondering if the church ladies' cookies were good, making it worth being caught and hauled down to the bake sale table. Actually, I didn't eat any of them, I sent them all to work with Hubby.

But funny that you mention the church lady. Her name is Miss Sally, and she works for a man down the road from me, taking care of his elderly mother.

Miss Sally is a late fiftyish to early sixtyish aged lady. Every morning, rain or shine, sweltering or freezing, she walks from one end of the road to the other, twice, around 7:00 for her daily exercise.

Naturally, she's walking the road about the time the boys are outside waiting for the bus, and they enjoy her morning chatter. In fact, they both start waving as soon as she gets into sight, quite a distance from where she actually reaches them. I always wish I could read their minds, as I watch them bounce around thinking of all the things they need to tell her between the time she sees them and the time she is in earshot.

Miss Sally has become a fixed character in our family story here in Smalltown. From the first day I ever saw her, she has known me. I reacted in typical city-folk fashion, friendly, but attempting to keep her at arm's length. But she never took that hint, and she still hasn't.

Miss Sally was quite interested in the additions we made to the house when we first moved in, and often walked up to see the progress. And if she happened to see me as I was rushing around getting myself ready for work, well, she would open the door and step in to speak to me, too, and tell me how nice the additions were coming along -- and, oh, her church was doing this or that, and wouldn't I like to buy some?

I really didn't like how welcome she felt, and attempted to show it with a slightly less than enthusiastic reaction. Well, that didn't bother her, and it still doesn't. Better throw some clothes on quick if you see her headed to the door, because she's going to knock and step right on in. I still have to take a refresher course in that one occasionally.

The first spring we were here, she told Oldest Son all about the pancake breakfast her church holds every year. Of course Oldest Son told her his mom would be happy to buy some tickets. Oh, yes, we went to the pancake breakfast (and I have to say, it was very good), where Miss Sally herself waited on us.

She's also sold us Krispy Kreme donuts every time they have that fund raiser, which seems to be pretty often. Can't complain too hard, though, when she delivers them right to the front door between 6:00 and 7:00 a.m. I'm just convinced, though, that we have to have earned a brick with our name on it in her church.

Oldest Son must talk to her a lot about his baseball games, because she's called to find out when he's playing and then shows up at the park to watch for a little while. Never does she stay for a full game, but enough that OS can see she was there. I only realized how much OS appreciated that when he commented one evening that she didn't come. I bet she had to answer for that the next morning. And I have to admit to myself, hey, how nice is that?

I'm sure with her perfect saleslady techniques she ushered plenty of folks to the bake sale table this weekend. In fact, I really didn't mind buying something from the ladies, but I was trying to save the last $10 bill in my pocket. When I saw her, though, I knew that $10 was now their $10.

What I have only recently begun to realize is how much Miss Sally has worked her way into all of our lives. Sometimes you just start to suspect a person was sent into your life for a reason, that it wasn't just a coincidental thing. I've started to feel like that about her. I'll let you know if I figure it out.

In the meantime, would y'all like to buy some donuts from the church? How about that pancake breakfast? Can you make it? Then maybe you'd just like to make a donation, how about that!? :)

Over and out.


6 comments so far catsoul - 2007-10-22 08:16:59
Your Miss Sally is a gem! You would miss her if you didn't have her in your life now. Some people just grow on you, and you never realize the wisdom and caring you get from them, until later. Glad you are realizing her importance now and not later. The joy of it all and the mystery to the wonder of the moment is precious. =^..^=
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2007-10-22 11:30:03
Miss Sally does sound like a neat lady in so many ways, but I would have a hard time with the 'walking right in' thing. I like to be able to do what I want behind closed doors that stay that way until I open them! Kinda hard with kids in the house, tho'.
-------------------------------
terri - 2007-10-22 14:33:56
Guess that is the difference in your part of the country. Can't imagine anyone in my town just walking in...well...ok...I can imagine it but they would be walking out with some of our possessions most likely! It does sound like Miss Sally is quite the lady and probably is in your life for a very special reason.
-------------------------------
Nannycarols - 2007-10-23 14:22:54
I am proud of you for sticking to your WW plan. I know I wouldn't have had the will power to not eat the cookies.
-------------------------------
webmiss - 2007-10-25 10:33:12
What a cute story. I think it's lovely that your boys like her so much, and that she went out of her way to come to some of OS's baseball games. Does she have grandchildren of her own? My daughter has pseudo-grandparents at almost every home in my mother's neighborhood. Miss Jewel and Mr. Bill always stop by to give her hugs and presents when she's up at mom's. We actually have a Miss Sally of our own, who let's Hailey come over to play with her dogs.--The world needs more sweet people like her. Although I think I would draw the line at knocking and then walking in.
-------------------------------
Megan - 2007-10-30 08:26:36
Your Miss Sally is a treasure. She may be a pest some of the time, but with the world as it is, someday the Miss Sally's of this world will be only a distant memory. Obviously she's added a demention in the lives of your children -- and they know it too. By the way, I'll be thinking about your story all day and will from now on, especially whenever I meet little children. I'm not sixty or retired, but at 50, I am well on my way. Megan
-------------------------------

previous // next