Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I went on down to the Smalltown Day, and they all axed for you.

2007-10-20
6:14 p.m.

Turns out this time I was actually right about not returning for a few days. Usually I start posting every day after mentioning something like that.

The boys and I went to the Smalltown Day festivities this afternoon and had a wonderful time. I established a rule early on: Anything you win, you have to carry. Heh. Not that they won that much, but they spent plenty of money trying.

I passed a co-worker early on who said her second-grade daughter had been trying to win a rabbit, and she smirked as she noted their lack of success.

We strolled along the vender booths and saw plenty of handcrafted and homemade items. The politicians were out in full swing, too. I was a little dismayed to see our clerk's competitor drawing quite a large crowd to his booth...while she was not. Here's hoping it was just a slow time for her.

I bought a hat to wear while out doing yard work. Now, I have a history of hats that distresses Cinzel. I do NOT like to sunburn my scalp and face, and will wear the most embarrassing topper around, as long as it protects my delicate self.

The hat I purchased today was a different sort of hat...think Crocodile Dundee. I really didn't plan on wearing it while at the festival, but it got hot and, well, it shaded my face quite nicely. I think Oldest Son will be joining Cinzel in making fun of my hat selections.

Last but not least, we had to stop by the food booths. Both kids had snowcones (the bluer the better), and we got a funnel cake to share.

Before I even noticed her and had a chance to flee, the lady who walks our road every morning snagged me to come over to her church's bake sale table. The ladies in this church are the most active fund raisers I've ever seen, and I've had to buy some of all of it.

Today I selected a pan of Toll House cookie bars for Hubby to bring to work tonight, for which I paid a pretty penny, and then marched all the goods and the boys back to the car.

In the luckiest break of all, Youngest Son had a birthday party to attend! Yahoo! Gotta leave the Smalltown Day, boys, because we have to be at the skating rink in 30 minutes (where Mama can sit down on her ever-wide behind and rest her tired feet while someone else throws a party together). Ahhhhh.

***************************************

Our neighbors (the ones that have the sheep dogs) had a baby boy sometime in the last couple days. She was about a week past her due date. According to the balloons flying on their mailbox, it's a boy! They also have a son the same age as YS.

I can't wait to hear what they named this child. I have become the crankiest old woman ever regarding children's names. It seems the trendier the better here in Smalltown, and especially if it's a last-name sounding name.

Youngest Son's soccer team is a prime example. We have a Hayden, Savannah, Lexie, Dane, Ryleigh, two Coopers (one boy, one girl), Holden, and then Matt (which is my YS). There are no Davids or Kevins or Williams or Bobs to be found around here.

Ah, well, I guess name trends change all the time, it's just me getting old and fussy. :)

Over and out.


5 comments so far Stephanie - 2007-10-20 20:39:55
I know what you mean about names. My niece just named her son Brody. You'd get a kick out of the names of the students at the high school where I work. The funniest ever was LaVodka!
-------------------------------
Heather - 2007-10-20 20:57:38
Yeah I know what you mean on names, I'm the same way. I like normal, classic names. I hate all the weird spellings and trendy stuff!
-------------------------------
Holly - 2007-10-21 11:35:49
One of the reasons I chose the name Warren is because it was tradional and unusual at the same time. There are a few unusual names here, but not many. I went to school with a MiChelle, spelled like that. But Warren's class was so full of Mikes, Joshs, Zach, Jacobs, Davids, it drove me nuts. I didn't want people to wonder what kind of nut I was, but I also wanted my son to have a name that was different from everyone else. That and I just love the sound of the name Warren Michael, my ex not withstanding. I guess that's why names seem to come and go. I hated being Holly when I was younger, but now I like not having the same name as everyone else.
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2007-10-21 14:27:53
I'm with you on the irritating trendy names. Makes me feel like a crotchedy old lady, too. Why are last-names-as-first-names so popular anyway? I think it all started with Madison from the movie Splash.
-------------------------------
webmiss - 2007-10-21 21:12:46
Yikes, that sucks that church lady cornered you. Hopefully the cookies were at least worth the price you paid for them! I just read an article on MSN the other day on how popular baby naming books/websites are. Do people like having to constantly correct peoples pronounciation of their childs name? One girl I work with, her name is Antwonette, which is pronounced Antoinette. Poor kid!
-------------------------------

previous // next