Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Ahhhh....young love.

2007-09-04
12:39 a.m.

Thank you to everyone for your shower-gel-in-the-carpet suggestions. In answer to a few, well, I've thrown the bottle away already, and I don't want to dig it back out because a.) yuck, and b.) it's from one of those cheapy sets you find at WM at Christmas time (the boys gave it to me last Christmas, as a matter of fact), and I doubt it has a number to call on it.

I don't have a carpet shampooer, but may consider renting one. Cinzel suggested using a wet/dry vac, while wetting the carpet repeatedly. We do have a shop vac I could use to do that.

But what I really want is for someone else to make this problem go away, and not a one of y'all offered to come do that!!!

I think I'll call one of our local carpet stores tomorrow and see if they have any desudser ideas/products.

***************************************

Meanwhile, in other (damn) dog news...we have three aluminum frame chairs stacked on our patio that we don't use often. We did have four, but one of them blew smack dab away the first storm we encountered here in Smalltown, and I guess I was so busy clicking the heels of my shiny red shoes, I didn't notice it going. Several weeks later, Hubby was the one to actually miss it.

Anyway, the three left are stacked on the side of our patio in an area we don't use much. The dogs, but mainly Trixie, have started jumping up into that chair stack to sit and watch the yard. Sitting up high like that, she looks like the lifeguard of the backyard. Always on duty, watching for sheepdogs. Cracks me up every time I see it.

And tonight, both dogs stood back and watched the cat sample a few bites out of their food bowl, and they l.e.t her.

Kitty Jane has a fistful of claws and a mean left hook, and she's had enough cold noses up her behind to last her a lifetime. She kicks ass and takes names of the dogs when she needs to, and occasionally turns around and chases them when they've pushed her a little far. Both dogs start grabbing for traction and skidding around corners when she does that. And I always watch and laaaaaaauuuugghh.

***************************************

Hubby and Youngest Son had a wonderful time in Augusta. As predicted, YS was a wonderful child without his older brother around.

Hubby reported that YS fell in love with another little six-year-old girl who was there with her grandmother. YS is terribly social, especially to little girls...he used most of the money Hubby gave him to win something out of the crane machine for his new little girlfriend. After he did that, he went back and won something for Oldest Son, who was home sick. Say it with me, ahhhhhhh.

YS announced upon his arrival home that he will now be marrying the girl from Augusta, because his current first grade fling, Katie B, is not as nice to him as she used to be. Plus, the girl in Augusta gave him a pink plastic Disney princess ring, too, so I think he's promised.

He has been in a spot or two of trouble this year already for trying to give his brownie and his jello to Katie B. Apparently she must sit at the opposite end of the lunch table from him, and his teacher would like him to keep his seat, despite his need to share his love and his dessert.

If y'all knew YS, you would know he does not give his dessert to just anyone, but -- swoon -- Katie B. has always been welcome to have it.

(Side Note: Every time he talks about Katie B. -- and we hear about her almost daily -- I always hear that Carpenter's song in my head...can't remember the name, but it starts "On the day that you were born, the angels got together and decided to create a dream come true, so they sprinkled gold dust in your hair...")

But alas, poor Katie B. has serious competition now. If she only knew.

Tonight I unpacked YS's suitcase, the one Hubby let him pack on his own, and it was full of his old Halloween costumes...wonder if his Augusta girl got to see him as a muscle-bound Superman or the green Power Ranger.

***************************************

Hubby is gone again tonight, this time to Mobile, to attend a meeting at the plant down there and meet the rest of the staff.

He'll be home tomorrow night, we'll discuss the pros and cons some more, and then if he decides to take it, the HR negotations start.

In answer to Heather, no, we won't be moving anytime soon. The plant is about 220 miles from us, and if he decides to accept it, we'll have to get him an apartment there. He's already gotten the agreement to a four-day work week, so he would be home on Thursday evenings through Sunday evenings every week.

He also gets five weeks of vacation a year, which really helps when I'm in a court term and the kids are out, like Spring Break, etc.

We already don't see much of him now, with him working nights. When he gets home in the mornings, we're usually gone for the day. Most of the time we see him about an hour to two hours in the evenings when he gets up and we eat dinner, before he leaves to drive an hour to work.

On weekends, when he has to work 12-hour shifts, we do good to see him 30 minutes, while he's eating, before he leaves.

He's so unhappy with the overall conditions and the shift he has to work in this facility, as well as his boss, well, I hope he decides to take the new one.

And I'm in a job now that I truly love, and am just not ready to leave it. He recognizes that, and that's why he turned this down initially. Now if he gets everything he's asked for, it'll be too hard to turn it down.

My job is a politically-connected one, and there is always the possibility that the next election I could be out of a job. I hope not, but that reality is there. If that were to happen, yep, we'd probably sell this house and all move south.

***************************************

Guess I'd better wrap it up and head to bed. Only four more days left this court term....yippee!

Over and out.


4 comments so far terri - 2007-09-06 13:48:59
I also enjoyed the love stories ....how sweet and also how cute he must have been to wear his halloween costumes...hope he took a change of underwear? That was really special for him to have a trip with his daddy all alone. Kudos to you for teaching OS how to clean house....my son is always grateful that I taught him some of that when he moved in with a high school friend who had no clue. Hope husband loves the new location and it all works out for you.
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2007-09-05 09:50:34
Your post is wonderful today! Between the heartwarming love story and the mental image created of your Kitty reatliating against one too many cold noses makes my whole day!! I love it!!
-------------------------------
Loki-Katt - 2007-09-05 04:41:38
The Carpenter's song you're trying to think of is "Close to You". "...Just like me, they long to be close to you." I remember as a kid giving mom's carpet a similar treatment (but with shampoo). I don't think we ever did get all of soap out...basically just scrubbed and then let it dry.
-------------------------------
cinzel - 2007-09-04 08:43:43
BZ said vinegar is an acid to the shower gel that's a base, whatever the hell that means. All I know is your room will smell like Easter eggs!! :)
-------------------------------

previous // next