Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Skate park...cool dudes.

2007-08-25
1:37 p.m.

Smalltown has been actively raising money over the last year for a skate park. This morning a company that builds ramps for skating held a demonstration event on main street, again, helping to raise funds. It was a bring-your-own-helmet and sign-a-waiver function.

Both boys wanted to try it out, so I held off, timing it so we arrived with about an hour and a half to skate. (Because it's hot as hell here, and I knew that'd be enough time, plus, hey, we had to leave, becuase it's over...sneaky parenting move).

While filling out the waivers, we watched as one young teen was carried off with what was suspected to be a broken wrist. And yeah, I kept on writing, though I wanted to leave immediately!

It's hard to watch them participate in something that I broke an ankle in myself when I was not much older than them. Both boys are better coordinated than moi, though, so hopefully we won't have to go through that.

Oldest Son's age group was well-represented on the ramps, and I watched as he held back, judging just where to start. Finally he worked up enough courage to start on the less steep ramps, before braving the bigger one.

Youngest Son was really too small to be on the ramps, and I was scared to death he and his fellow younger kids were going to get run over as they gamely attempted board moves on the ground around the ramps.

Finally Younest Son came and sat next to me on the nearby church steps, declaring it too hot to skate right now. And he was so very right. It was too hot to watch them skate, too, I thought.

Oldest Son was even ready to leave by the end, though. We stopped at the snow cone stand on the way to the car, then came home and are now positively basking in the AC.

Hot as it was, it was good for Oldest Son's self-esteem. He's pretty sure he's the next Tony Hawk.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Stephanie - 2007-08-25 19:18:34
My daughter just bought a skateboard, but she hasn't even THOUGHT about going near a ramp yet, thank goodness!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2007-08-26 09:09:08
Oh....I am SO old!! I was a skateboarder in my day. Pretty darn good, too. But our ramps were only the ones up the street where the rail road tracks came through town. Thery were raised up in the air quite a bit for some reason and for US that reason was so that we could build up enough speed going up one side so that we could sail across the tracks and fly down the otherside! Wheeeeee!!! Of course this was most challenging when we could hear a train coming :)
-------------------------------
terri - 2007-08-26 16:11:11
No, I am the old one. I never had a skateboard...I don't think they were even "in anyone's imagination" when I was young. but I did have clamp on roller skates and used to fly down the sidewalk in front of my apt house unless the skate came off midway and I fell....OWWWW!
-------------------------------

previous // next