Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

If it ain't one thing, it is definitely another.

2007-08-25
12:22 a.m.

Hubby was offered a position in another facility owned by his company yesterday afternoon. He's been trying to find an offshore slot within his company, but it would be in a different division. If he worked safety in the offshore division, he could be in seven days, out seven days. Believe it or not, I think we'd probably see him more than the way he's working now, working nights.

The problem/carrot is the facility that offered him the job yesterday would be a significant pay raise, slightly over a third of what I make now. That's making Hubby look at it hard.

Arrrghgghghghgh. We've gone over it ad nauseum now, the pros and cons. In his eyes, it's a big pro for him, and in my eyes it's all con for me. I'm really, really happy in this job.

He keeps saying he wants me to be happy in my job, too, so we'll stay here and he'll keep fishing for an offshore position instead. And in the next breath he makes a comment that lets me know how he really feels. Like asking couldn't I just transfer to another area of this state to a different district. (Once again, that new position is very close to the Alabama state line, where it'd be close enough to Mississippi to commute.)

One reason I couldn't just transfer is official court reporter jobs just don't open up every day, plus they vary widely in the ways they are handled, too. I freelanced for a whole lot of years, and I just don't want to go back to it yet. I am truly content doing exactly what I'm doing.

I've reminded him, too, that though his company would move us again, and they have fabulous relocation packages, financially, we really don't want to be sitting on two houses for six to eight months again, trying to sell.

I fear that's exactly what we'd do, since things aren't selling very quickly out here in the boonies. The double house notes, power, gas, water, and grass-cutting bills nearly killed us for as long as we did it on the house in South Carolina.

As of tonight, he says he's letting this chance go. Please, please let it be the right decision, because he sure wants out of the position he's in now. And I want him to leave it as well, but I'd much rather he stick with the offshore search, so we wouldn't have to move again and me quit my job, too.

I feel so selfish......why is it always something????

Over and out.


1 comments so far Linda - 2007-08-25 11:21:36
Throughout history, women have given up their careers and homes to follow their men. How wonderful that we live in a time when a man like your husband is so enlightened. Two people with careers are in a tug-o-war as long as you both shall work, and each time you give to the one with the most to lose. The next time around, it will be him with the better opportunity ... and you'll do the right thing then, too. Bravo to you both.
-------------------------------

previous // next