Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Part 2 of the dog story.

2007-08-15
7:59 a.m.

More reporting on the neighborhood dog incident.

Youngest Son's fine, and no, the dog didn't break the skin, just scared the crap out of him.

Yesterday morning Hubby and I both went out to the end of the driveway with him, and Ms. Sally, who walks down our road every morning, buzzed right down to greet us. She had seen the dogs jump on YS the previous morning, but was too far away to help, and wanted to talk to us about it.

Seems the sheepdogs have been bothering her in the mornings, jumping up on her, and she's now carrying a stick to get them back. She also commented on the impatient bus driver, and told us we needed to be patient with Ms. C, the driver, because she might not be saved.

Hubby and I both wanted a word with Ms. C, but when the bus pulled up, Ms. Sally was still talk talk talking away to me, so Hubby spoke with her instead. According to him, Ms. C. said she saw what happened, too, so Hubby said he just thanked her for all her patience, and that we're so sorry we probably got her off schedule that morning. Hopefully with juuuuust enough sarcasm to make his point.

This morning I went out with them again, MUCH to Oldest Son's TOTAL dismay, and the dogs were back out, of course. The lab immediately jumped up on and muddied OS*, and OS gave it a well-placed *smack* with his nylon lunch box. That seemed to do the trick. The dog also jumped on me, but jumped back when I turned around to confront it. Tomorrow morning I need to bring a newspaper outside with us, I think.

Last night the owner of the lab called, and this poor man has so much on his plate to deal with right now, I felt horrible for him. It's a long story, but it sounds like the dog issue could be the straw to break the camel's back, and if I have to stand outside with the kids every morning, that's what I'll do. Hopefully YS will learn to take pretty good aim with his own lunch box soon.

** When I saw OS's shirt muddied up I was ticked, but my real thought was it's soooo damn hot and dry here, where did this dog find some mud???

Over and out.


4 comments so far Grizmom - 2007-08-15 18:06:02
Ya'know.. my sisters both practice the dog whisperer thingsy. They say to take a run at them and they back right off. Much to my suprise, that really does work too. So if YS runs at them right out of the gate, before they can get to him, he might spare himself. So, where DID the mud come from?
-------------------------------
patti - 2007-08-16 01:08:53
the first thing to come to mind is to run from them which is not the best thing-like boom boom said a good knee kick to the chest works best and be strong about it...I had to deal with that with some neighbors dogs when i walked my boys to the bustop and its scary...mase might help to if the kicking doesnt..just dont spray it in the wind and let it come back to you!! ;)
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2007-08-15 10:03:52
You are so sweet for listening to your neighbor's troubles and taking that inot consideration with dealing with his dogs. Often times, when the dust settles on a situation, things take on a different perspective. If it was ME, I would probably still be all fired up and Hubby would be the one to de-fuse me...eventually. I can be a bit too hard headed sometimes. I need softer~kinder people, like you, in my life to be a good influence on me! Heh!
-------------------------------
boom boom - 2007-08-15 13:29:02
a good knee to the chest when the dog jumps will cure it of jumping on you....then it cant reach you with its paws either. maybe os should try carrying a hard plastic or metal lunch box! one of those to the head would probably cure the dog of jumping too!!
-------------------------------

previous // next