Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I'm not crazy, just fat.

2007-07-23
8:53 p.m.

Once again we find more damage from our storm Friday afternoon. Yesterday's casualty was our freezer in the garage. When I walked out to a huge puddle of water in the floor in front of it, I knew it was a goner. It's pretty obvious it had gone off Friday and never come back on...everything was totally thawed and downright warm.

I cleaned it out -- there were four bags of frozen shrimp out there, amongst many other things, so it was a smelly cleaning out -- and moved it into the middle of the garage so I could mop all around it.

When Hubby got back home he started checking other things, and finally figured out the storm had knocked out one of our GFI switches (electrical term, don't ask me) and we had six other outlets that were affected.

Today he replaced that switch, and now the very clean freezer is happily freezing away again. Well, it needed defrosting, I admit, but I hated to do it that way.

I'm relieved that Hubby can do so many things around the house himself. The switch part itself cost $42, and I'm sure a house call from an electrician to fix it would have been another $100.

This morning our neighbor called us (on her just restored phone service, but she still didn't have internet service) to report that they had orangey water again, and wondered if we did. Turns out they'd had some orange water Saturday evening, too, after ours had already cleared up again. This morning when she called, though, I ran and checked, and ours was still clear.

Hubby said when he came in this afternoon they had the AC repair people at their house, too. Crossing my fingers we don't find a problem with our AC. We were once frequent customers of an AC man in New Orleans, and it was an expensive hobby of ours, trying to keep cool.

***************************************

I'm having the easiest court term ever. Today I was finished by lunch, as the mayor's dad died and all the attorneys were either at the funeral or in the town Cinzel started a term in today. Consequently, it was real quiet around our courthouse.

My judge has to attend a meeting tomorrow that will take up the whole day, between traveling and the actual meeting, so we all have the day off. Darn it!

We'll start a trial, I think, Wednesday, and then Thursday and Friday will be jam-packed with everyone trying to get their guilty pleas done by the end of the term, which is Friday. It'll be the classic hurry up and wait that is the legal system.

***************************************

Tomorrow Hubby and I have an appointment with the counselor we've been seeing, and then I have one by myself scheduled afterward.

The counselor is a very easy to talk to fellow that I feel very comfortable with. He's been trying to help me with some grief over my brother's death, as well as some issues Hubby and I have had.

I'm considering tomorrow finally broaching the topic of my weight with him in the hour session alone.

There's a big part of me that would like to know why the hell I can't keep my head in the game to lose any significant amount of weight. And then there's another part of myself that would really like not to open THAT can of worms.

Goodness knows I realize how lucky we are to be able to receive counseling fairly inexpensively through Hubby's health insurance, and I would like to use it to its fullest advantage.

I can't put my finger on why I'm hesitant to examine this topic except for the emotional pain it'll bring. If I feel comfortable enough to finally bring it up, I'll take notes for everyone here in the same boat...:)

***************************************

Off to watch Big Love with Hubby. Man do we LOVE that show.

Over and out.


2 comments so far Joan - 2007-07-25 08:41:58
Best thing my Hub and I did was to go to counseling and then I went for a whole year by myself after. I used to think I was strong enough to solve all of my problems without it - now I realize that it is a tool to help me. Weight is definitely one of my issues too; you'll address it when you're ready! Peace.
-------------------------------
Megan - 2007-07-24 09:07:42
Hey Mel, I've been lucky too -- no court this week except Wednesday. There is this appeal I need to finish so the no court thing is making me do the happy dance. I rather be pulling weeds than finishing an appeal, but I'll take what I can get. If your counselor has any weight loss secrets to share... please do.
-------------------------------

previous // next