Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Somebody plug that extension cord back in, please.

2007-07-20
6:03 p.m.

This afternoon we've had a hell of a storm in Smalltown. And since we're all apparently hooked to the same extension cord for our power out here in the boonies, of course we were in darkness for a couple of hours.

I did my best to convince the kids that when the power goes out, everyone is supposed to take a nap.

Listening to the news just now, I hear some areas got as much as an inch of rain. We don't have a rain guage, but I'd wager it was way more than an inch we got. My judge lives very close to me, though, and he loves to tell how much rain he gets in his guage, so I can ask him.

Can it get any more boring when I'm talking about the rain?

***************************************

In children news, I'm dreading the start of school. It's been so nice leaving them sleeping every morning this week while I've gotten ready and left for work. We can just pick up and run to town to do whatever without having to think of schedules and getting enough sleep and whether the homework is done yet.

On the other hand, I sure will enjoy some peace and quiet around here, too.

***************************************

I'm hesitant to even bring up this topic, because I know there are plenty of folks who will think he's just a brat, but I'm wondering if maybe I don't need to have Youngest Son evaluated for hyperactivity.

This is something Hubby and I have mulled over many times in the last few years. Just like we spoke of speech problems for a good two years before I finally set about the evaluation on my own, as Hubby really thought he would grow out of it. He has had a year and a half of speech therapy now, and is much better.

Surprisingly, on the hyper issue it's me that's dragging my feet. While YS is plenty, plenty physically active, it's not so much that he can't control his physical activity, it's more that he can't control himself when his brain prompts a thought about something and he needs to talk about it.

I think some of my hesitancy is because I can see so much of myself at six years old in YS. I was a pain-in-the-ass child that pushed everyone's buttons in my family, and I turned out fine, right? Right?

One of the main similarities I see is one I cringe at that I am repeating. My parents, but especially my dad, spent my whole life doing his damnedest to shut me up. I talked all the time and had an opinion about everything, as well as a very strong sense of wrong and right where I'd been wronged. And my dad didn't want. to. hear. it. I really am tired of hearing it, too. Sorry, Dad.

Youngest Son is every bit the talker I was, and I can see that it's not just that he doesn't want to hear "no" from us as he wants us to hear him out, which means he spends a lot of time trying to convince us that the sky is green no matter how many times we say it's blue. And therein lies the problem that I know a lot of people label "brat."

I've tried being as patient as I can possibly be and listening till he can't talk anymore, but I just don't have that many years left in me. Plus the fact that I swear my ears are bleeding, they're so overtaxed.

I'm not very articulate at explaining this today, I know. Just looking for a place to worry/vent aloud. Parenting is hard.

Over and out.


5 comments so far yankeechick - 2007-07-22 10:04:53
I retract my dumb comment from Friday. Typically I use Mozilla Firefox, but discovered yesterday that it wouldn't allow me to view a couple of sites properly and I had to open plain old Internet Explorer to view them. This morning I tried the same thing with your diary and what do you know!? Perfecto!
-------------------------------
loki-katt - 2007-07-24 21:31:44
Age 7?!?!! I'm with you mel...my ears are definitely bleeding. Having the same problem with granddaughter and since she's now my bunkie, I hear it until she passes out and then she talks in her sleep! As a former hyper kid (and now mal-adjusted hyper adult) talking isn't it. I was lablled hyper but not sure I would be now...I was just board (my opinion). I've tried with GD, maybe you can try with YS...set up conversation dates...we'll spend the next 20 minutes talking/listening to anything you have to say, but then we get 5 minutes of quite (and increase from there). We typically don't make a full minute but sometimes she does try.
-------------------------------
boom boom - 2007-07-20 19:22:55
parenting sure IS hard!
-------------------------------
yankeechick - 2007-07-20 23:05:43
Just wanted to say hi. I linked you from good ol' Kitchenlogic and we have a few other diaries/blogs in common I see. Hope you don't mind me reading, or at least TRYING to read! When I bring up your diary, it's all 'scrunched up' and runs together so I actually can't read it very well. I wonder what the deal is? Has anyone else mentioned it? I don't have a problem with any other D~Landers.
-------------------------------
Carol - 2007-07-21 18:15:27
Talking lots is not a sign of hyperactivity. Sorry. If it was I know a lot of hyperactive kids.:-)Having delt with 2 ADHD kids I can tell you that the best Dr. suggest that you wait till the age of 7 to have them tested. Good Luck.
-------------------------------

previous // next