Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

What is this RSVP of which you speak?

2007-05-27
8:52 p.m.

RSVP means NOTHING, apparently. Yesterday was Youngest Son's birthday party, held in the next town's inflatable jump-till-you-puke place in the mall. My kids love it, so I figured it would be a good place for a party.

As of yesterday morning, we had had three RSVPs, out of the 22 in his class that had been invited. We knew with it being Memorial Day weekend that a lot of folks would be out of town, but I was already disappointed for him. (Though honestly he didn't really seem to care, since the little girl he has a crush on would be there.)

Within the first 15 minutes of the party I went from cringing over just how much pizza and birthday cake we would have left to hoping I had enough. We had a total of 12 kids, plus my two. I only had nine gift bags ready, so I had decided I just wouldn't hand them out. Three kids left pretty quickly after the cake and ice cream, so I ended up handing out the bags to the last nine at the end of the two hours.

We had no pizza left, and I had already admonished my two boys and Oldest Son's friend Brandon not to have anymore pizza, that I'd buy more on the way home after the party. We had one slice of birthday cake left. Phheeewwww.

I was happy that so many of YS's friends came, but I'm really puzzled over the non-RSVP'g people. Do they not have birthday parties for their children and see how hard it is to plan when no one RSVPs??? This has happened to me before in another city, so I know it's not just Smalltown.

Last night I talked to one of YS's friends' moms, and she, too, lamented this problem. (Yes, she is one who did call before.) Her daughter is having a birthday party next weekend at the local water slide, which is brand new and the hottest kids activity going in this area. I was sure she'd probably have a crowd already. Nope. We are the only ones who have RSVP'd that we'll be there.

***************************************

Speaking of OS's friend Brandon. Remember a couple months ago I wrote about him? His mom was on her third man in the year and four months or so we'd been here. She's now back with the first man that she was with when we met Brandon. They were divorced last fall, as a matter of fact, and there have been two more men in between now and when they were divorced. It makes my head hurt, y'all.

Brandon is happy they're back together and happy that they live closer to us now. You would never know he's had the upheaval he's had to have had in all this time.

He spent the night with us last night, and his mom was going to pick him up after she got off from work tonight. I ran a little late with dinner, and for the first time ever she agreed to let me bring him home. Usually it's a big deal that she pick him up and drop him off and that we never do either one.

I would never ever ever say a word to embarrass anyone about where they live. I won't say it about their love life either, obviously. We just love Brandon, and would do anything in the world to make sure he wasn't uncomfortable.

I actually liked this man that was her husband when we met them for the first time. Hopefully they'll make it work this time, but I wouldn't hold my breath.

***************************************

Tomorrow we are celebrating Memorial Day by driving up to Birmingham to pick up our van. It was actually repaired (to the tune of $550) last Monday, but with me working in court and Hubby working nights, there wasn't any way for us to get there till tomorrow.

Since tomorrow is Youngest Son's real birthday, I'm sure we'll eat out somewhere and have a cupcake or two, too.

***************************************

This afternoon while driving to Smalltown's local grocery store, I passed through our downtown and saw flags on every lightpost, every telephone pole, and in almost every yard. It does bring a lump to your throat.

I'm especially thinking about your nephew, Carol. Every time I read another news story about a soldier that died in Iraq, I think about your nephew, your family, and you. I know tomorrow will be hard for y'all, and I'm so sorry.

***************************************

One more week of this court term, and then I am OFFFFffffffffff for the month of June!!! Woo to the HOO! Technically I have to work one day in June (the 27th), but other than that I am off till July 9th! Can't Wait!

Note to m-lewis: You know, it's all what you're used to, I guess. In the criminal side, we actually loathe and detest the civil stuff we are occasionally forced to hear. We are familiar with the criminal issues, and those civil cases are just soooo dull. It amused me greatly to see your comment, though!

Hope y'all have great weeks, because I doubt I'll update again till I'm free!

Over and out.


6 comments so far Pattypat - 2007-05-28 07:32:48
Happy birthday to your son! Sounds like (despite the lack of manners) you guys had a great party.
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2007-05-28 16:49:50
To answer your question about proofreading, yes B and I both have to proofread our own work. Our stuff also gets proofread by folks at our respective employers after we turn it in, though. Is that what you meant?
-------------------------------
Carol - 2007-05-29 11:07:24
Happy B Day to YS!!! Well you could get the RSVP's like they do here in Dallas. It is now done over the internet. Send out a email from one sight and everyone replys to it. You can check to see who is coming every day. I guess it beats the invites getting lost in the mail.
-------------------------------
Stephanie - 2007-05-30 08:09:06
I don't understand the lack of common courtesy displayed in this failure to RSVP. It boggles the mind. I'm glad the party turned out to be such fun for your son, at any rate. And, thanks for the kind words of support over at my place. They are much appreciated.
-------------------------------
Grizmom - 2007-05-30 20:35:33
We had the same problem with Sons wedding last year. We did special little postcards and all the postage. Just check the box and toss it back in the mail -- that's all that was required. And I bet we didn't get 1/4th of them back, nor hear from the people directly. It sure makes it very irritating. Ms. Ettiquette (sp?) says you should plan on 65% or something of the people invited, whether you hear from them or not. She was pretty close to dead on!
-------------------------------
Megan - 2007-05-31 09:28:54
Yea. One more week of your court term! How perfect for you. We don't get court terms. Every day is a court term. By the way, I'm blogging more and more at another site. Hopefully you can get from here to there by just clicking on my name from the "add your comment" section of your post. If not go to: http://www.xanga.com/Pinescentedmemories I've got your web site bookmarked, so don't worry. I'll see be around.
-------------------------------

previous // next