Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Christmas Day started early 'round here.

2006-12-26
12:31 a.m.

How can it be six days since I've written here? Feels like I just wrote an entry a couple days ago.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Hope everyone had a Merry Christmas and enjoyed some time with their loved ones.

We went to Cinzel's mom's church for candlelight service, then on to her mom's house last night for a little Christmas Eve fun. It was a beautiful service, and I once again envied Cinzel of her small-town ties that she has. Having grown up on the go, I never developed those ties, or roots, that she and her whole family have.

Of course now that I'm in a small town, I actually find myself avoiding those ties, too. My husband is from a small town as well, and he is so much more social than me. I'm friendly and polite on the surface, but I definitely have a stiff arm out that he doesn't. Weird, I know. I don't know if this is actually a product of growing up moving all the time or not.

This marks the end of today's discussion of my personality disorder. One that I didn't set out to document anyway.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

After leaving Cinzel's mom's house, we came home and hustled the kids off to bed and then napped till we were certain it was safe to get up and start assembling their/our big present of the year: A game table with air hockey on one side and pool on the other.

We had just finished manhandling it together (it has some problems, and will probably need a few replacement parts, if not a whole new table) when the kids woke up. It was 3:30, and we could have made them go back to bed, but thought, eh, what the heck. Let's do it now, and then we'll all go to bed.

Ha. What simpletons we are. At around 4:30, I went to bed anyway, and left Hubby and the boys moving from one toy to the next.

I never asked him what time he finally came to bed, but I heard the boys back up around maybe 10:00 or so. And looked over at Hubby snoring and didn't have the heart to wake him up then. Instead, I got up and cheered, zombie-like, from my perch on the couch, while the boys played air hockey.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Years ago my brother Randy and his wife started a tradition in their family of having steak and shrimp on Christmas day, instead of traditional ham or turkey, etc.

Sometime this afternoon, I finally realized they had the right idea. I cooked a turkey and dressing, gravy, creamed potatoes, green bean casserole, buttered corn and hot rolls this afternoon, declaring I'll cook it on Thanksgiving, but next Christmas? We're breaking out the grill.

Tomorrow when we're eating leftovers again, I may even cook the frozen pecan pie I have, too! Tonight it just seemed like one more thing to cook and I didn't wanna. I know, how hard is it to stick a frozen pie in the already-heated oven, but I promise it seemed like such a chore at 5:30 this afternoon.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Our car troubles that kicked off last week continue to plague us. In fact our van just squeaked its way into the repair shop Friday afternoon at closing time. I should say smoked itself into the shop, because that's what it was doing.

Hubby diagnosed it as a possible hose rupture or an intake something or other. He professes to not be a mechanic, but he knows how to fix quite a few problems on our vehicles and is usually pretty close to right on a diagnosis as well. He told me he hopes it's just the hose rupture. When he says it like that, well, I'm hoping right along with him. After adding up what I spent on Christmas, hello, we don't need anymore big repair bills. Not that we ever do, though.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Like every year at this time, I'm hoping to list "lost weight" at the top of my successes page at the end of next year. Unlike a lot of years, though, I do have a plan on how I'm going to attempt to do it this time. I almost have the "beginning of school" anticipation right now. Not enough to start it a week early, mind you, but enough to be ready to put it into action January 1st.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Headed to bed to snuggle my loved one. Hope you all had a great day today and felt loved this year.

Over and out.

Edited to Add: We already got the van back this morning, and it was just a hose rupture. Phhhheeewwww.


1 comments so far m-lewis - 2006-12-26 17:20:29
You and my daughter (kizpinkcat) could talk Christmas food. I mean, you should see the meal she made and the table she set in red and gold! She used real plates, forks and knives and glass-glasses. I mean, she has toddlers for God's sake.
-------------------------------

previous // next