Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Santa is sending prunes.

2006-12-12
9:01 p.m.

I've been doing a little internet Christmas shopping tonight, and I'm cracking myself up at what I've sent my brother.

Now Grizmom, I don't know if our shared grandmother sent you guys this gift every year, but she always sent my brothers and me a dried fruit plate. Every year. This cracked all of us up, and we would anxiously call each other when we received them every year to cackle about the season beginning, because the rattan paper plate-holder filled with dried fruit had arrived! Nothing says ho ho ho like some prunes, right!?

Despite our teasing, we all actually like the dried fruit, too, so I decided to go for the gusto tonight and sent my brother a dried fruit plate. I can't wait for him to get it...hee hee hee.

Sure do wish I could send Mike one, too, because he would see the humor in it even more than Randy will.

***************************************

Youngest Son is still running fever tonight, but the grape-flavored Tylenol or Motrin does a good job of knocking it back down now. Wish I had some grape-flavored Prozac for myself.

Oldest Son is waging a big it's-not-fair argument about Youngest Son getting to miss school. I've been trying to explain karma to him tonight, and how if he's not careful, he'll probably get this next week, when he's out of school anyway.

***************************************

Hubby suggested tonight that Santa had been checking out the countertop hot dog cooker that cooks two weiners and toasts two buns, snap snap, like that. (Animated air snapping was included in the story.)

I told him Santa was crazy if he thought "I" wanted something like that. Looks like I may have to do some shopping for myself, too.

***************************************

There is a local newspaper reporter here that runs his own newspaper. It's a total rag full of local news...he covers I think every car wreck, every fire, every police chase, etc. The finished product appears once a week, and is absolutely loaded with his news and his opinions. For 50 cents a week, you get some "news" and plenty to gawk over. And the local folks snap it up...at least out here in Smalltown.

Last week's edition covered a trial I reported a couple weeks ago. He got some of it right. :) Can't wait to see what he prints about the murder trial.

Maybe that's what I want for Christmas, a subscription to the rag!

Over and out.


1 comments so far m-lewis - 2006-12-13 09:02:18
I had to laugh at the dried fruit plate your "shared" grandmother always sent you to start off the holidays. Don't you just love it? My parents always sent everyone in our family a mail-order fruit cake (it really was good -- honest) from the Collins Street Bakery in Texas. My husband always joked about how Christmas can now begin because the fruitcakes had arrived. I don't know why, but for years I kept the Christmas tins the cakes came in. Now that my mother is gone, we don't receive fruitcake anymore. You never know how much you miss something until it's gone.
-------------------------------

previous // next