Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

It's almost done.

2006-12-08
5:54 a.m.

The capital murder trial I've been taking is almost over, and soon my life will be back to normal. Cannot happen soon enough!

The jury returned a guilty verdict, and today we have the sentencing phase, which sounds like another trial in itself, with opening argument and closing argument just like the regular trial. (The jury reached a guilty verdict in less than an hour...think their minds were made up before they got in the jury room? I think they just went back there to actually look at the exhibits, took a vote, and were able to come right back out.)

Today will make day five of this trial, so this appeal will probably be roughly 1,000 pages, counting the jury voir dire. I do not relish transcribing it.

Our defendant has cried, sometimes rather noisily, throughout the trial, and I know I'm going to sound hard-hearted here, but it has really irritated me to see and hear her. It sounds like she has been a me, me, me person that doesn't mind ruining (or taking) anyone else's life to further herself. She got herself into this courtroom, now stop bawling so I don't have to hear you while I'm trying to do my job.

According to the TV news report last night, her mother was hollering that the jury had reached the wrong verdict. That must have happened in the outer corridor of the courthouse, because it sure didn't happen in the courtroom.

I've got to go hit the shower, so I can get ready before I have to wake the kids up for school.

Over and out.


2 comments so far m-lewis - 2006-12-08 11:09:56
Ever see the movie (or play), Twelve Angry Men? That movie is what I always think about when jurors come to a quick decision in a murder case. And I always wonder what goes on in that jury room, since none of us are allowed in there. Ours has one long long table with chairs all around. There's a bathroom, a coffee pot, sodas in a refrigerator and fresh donuts (sometimes pizza, depending on the time of day). I once asked the bailiff who guards the door, "I wonder sometimes if the jurors stay just long enough to have a Mad-Hatter coffee klash before they vote."
-------------------------------
Lizzzygizzy - 2006-12-08 19:15:52
I saw your picture with the murderer! You looked very disgusted with her. I read all about the case--she looks so normal to be such a nut case. I know you are glad this case is almost over!
-------------------------------

previous // next