Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Turkey Day...minus Mom.

2006-11-29
12:34 a.m.

I can't believe it's been ten days since I posted. Where has the time gone?

Also, I just found out tonight that some of the e-mail notifications from comments to my entries are going to my spam mail. I promise I'm not ignoring you! I appreciate all comments, and I have missed quite a few, because I rarely go back and read old entries.
_______________________________________

Thanksgiving was...Thanksgiving. My oldest brother (half brother) couldn't make it, because his stepfather was having surgery. His mom asked him not to leave, that she didn't want to be by herself. I thought that was the only right thing for him to do, and I look forward to seeing him sometime later this month. He promised he'd come sometime after my court term was over, and I'm holding him to it.

My mother did not come. Grizmom, she is becoming our grandmother. It's true. I've been here almost a year, and she has not visited once yet, and I don't think she will. Basically I've given up all hope of her ever coming to visit, though she promises she will.

She really hurt my feelings over Thanksgiving, and I told her straight out she was hurting my feelings, but still she would not come. Doug even offered to drive all the way from his house in Oklahoma to Lousiana to GET HER and bring her back to Mississippi. Nope. Of course Randy and I both offered to go get her, but she wouldn't have it.

We aren't in a stand-off and not speaking or anything, but I'm preparing myself not to get upset like this again. She's invited, I'll be happy to make sure she gets here if she wants to, but I can't get my hopes up anymore.

I really hate this. My mom and I have always been so close. Right now I feel like she wants everyone visiting her on her terms in her town. And that reminds you of....Grizmom and I's grandmother, in my opinion. Same hard head without the sour attitude.
_______________________________________

Those of you that read Cinzel already know we had three bomb scares at the courthouse yesterday. Two before we even started the day, then one more after lunch. We spent a lot of time in the parking lot. Some of us had on uncomfortable shoes, too. Cinzel may be right that it was her defendant, because the calls stopped after her jury was picked.

Next week I'll be reporting a murder trial. We're going to another county a couple hours drive away to pick our jury, then bring them back to our county to hold the trial. I feel so sorry for those jury panel members, minding their own business a few weeks before Christmas, visions of all they need to do before the Christmas holidays dancing in their heads when suddenly they're just plucked up from their lives and homes and stuck in a hotel a couple hours away listening to our trial.

I voiced that sympathy to Cinzel, and she reminded me it's their civic duty, jury duty. I know it is, but still...
_______________________________________

Tonight Hubby met me in town where we could get the boys haircuts and new shoes. Somehow last night both boys outgrew their current tennis shoes. They fit yesterday, they don't fit today. We went to the mall to get some new ones (Oldest Son's in a bigger shoe that makes him look like he's Big Foot, but they do fit), then headed over to the salon for haircuts.

Both my kids crack me up while getting their hair cut. Youngest Son loves loves loves to get his hair cut. The whole experience. From getting to sit on the booster seat and be pumped up in the chair to the sucker afterwards, he loves to get a haircut. In fact, if you mention he needs a haircut, you'd better mean it now, because he gets his shoes on to go.

Oldest Son, however, moans and groans when a haircut is mentioned. Oh, how he hates it. He wants to grow his hair out, ala skateboard boy. Sorry Charlie. Then once he gets in the chair at the salon, he's fascinated with how handsome he is with a fresh haircut and always wants to buy some product. Be it hair gel or fancy shampoo, he needs it. Tonight they used a "thickener" in his hair. Thank goodness they were out of it. Saved me a dollar or twelve.
_______________________________________

I'm sure my clothes must be dry by now, so I'm off to hang them up and head to bed.

Over and out.


3 comments so far m-lewis - 2006-11-29 12:17:18
We had a murder trial like that once, where the trial had to be transfered from two counties over to the one I live in. This old boy was a monster, let me tell you. He cut up his wife and distributed her from one end of Missouri and into Arkansas. That's where part of her was found -- in an ice chest in a lake. A fisherman found her (poor guy). I hate rape and murder trials. The poor jury, having to sit there before Christmas, listening to the gory details and look at death photographs -- eeewwwwuuu. P.S. I thought I was nearly through with this appeal. I found out yesterday there had been an additional proceeding in February of this year that I hadn't remembered (this awful custody case took FIVE DAYS and was tried over a period of a year and a half). I just want to cry!
-------------------------------
Fi - 2006-11-29 19:53:29
My Dad got like that as he got older. Absolutely nothing would lure him out of his own home. He was more than happy to have us there but wouldn't come to us. His theory was that he had done the running around after us for many years, it was our turn to run around after him. He claimed that age merited a little selfishness. I know where you are coming from. It is an awkward situation but one to which I never found a solution.
-------------------------------
Grizmom - 2006-12-05 10:52:18
I can completely understand how you feel and why. My un-asked-for advice would be to make the most out of it. If you have to go see her to see her, you should go. As we both know, you're not promised tomorrow. I don't think WA could EVER EVER NEVER be as aweful as Grandma. Ever. Not on her worst day. WA isn't mean and hateful and terrible to people. I'm sure she doesn't mean to hurt your feelings. But, she's doing what she thinks is right for her right now and you need to do the same. Someday, hopefully a long time from now, when she's gone, you'll be glad you did whatever you had to do to see her and be in touch. Heaven hasn't yet released it's double-top-secret phone number. But when they do!!!.... :) Hang in there. Know you're loved and know I think about you so very often!
-------------------------------

previous // next