Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Well, that wasn't a restful three days at all.

2006-11-10
11:38 p.m.

Well, that wasn't a very restful three-day break.

I ended on three notes; one, that my judge would do just fine in his race that day, but I was anxious for it to be over; two, that I needed to blow out my yummy-smelling candle, because it seemed to be irritating my already-in-place sinus/allergy symptoms; and three, Hubby was going to see a neurosurgeon to see what more could be done about his back.

I'll work backwards on the updates.

Hubby is having surgery on Tuesday, as he has a ruptured disc, and roughly half of the disc contents are already gone. No wonder his back is killing him. Though he is worried about the surgery itself, he is desperately looking for relief. I hope this is it.

I started feeling worse on Wednesday, had a terrible night Wednesday night -- wheezing, coughed all night, couldn't sleep, fever, pounding headache. I seemed to be on the fast track to bronchitis, just like this time last year.

I went to the doctor first thing Thursday morning, and he diagnosed me with a sinus infection and what he believes to be asthma. What???? I don't have asthma. I couldn't have asthma. I have allergies. The more he talked with me, I realized I do have some of those other symptoms. Now I've asked Cinzel and Hubby, and they both have noticed heavy breathing/wheezing at times I don't even realize it. Egads. According to the doctor, sometimes you just develop it gradually and are used to the slight wheezing, so that you don't even notice it.

He gave me some antibiotics and some Prolex and cough syrup, as well as an inhaler. Then he made me take a breathing treatment and a shot of steroids to reduce the inflammation already going on in my lungs.

He really scared me when he said undertreating asthma now would lead to breathing problems as I age, due to the inflammation scarring. I pulled my head out of the sand when he said that. I have to go back in two weeks and let him listen to my lungs again, and he says he may need me to do some sort of breathing test to check my lung capactiy. Oh, man, breathing is very important to me, you know?

After two days, I am feeling better, though still running fever, still coughing, and still wheezing. And I can't figure out how to use the inhaler without spraying either my tongue or the roof of my mouth instead of getting it into my throat. Advice is welcome.

Last but by no means least, as Cinzel updated in her diary, my judge just about lost his race. Oh, he won it in the long run, but it was a nail-biter all night long, and we didn't find out the final results till Wednesday morning. Gah!! I was a nervous wreck.

His opponent was a man that has hardly practiced in criminal court at all -- maybe two cases, and one of them was in the last few weeks in Cinzel's court -- and just really not cut out for the judge's responsibilities. He garnered a lot of support on race and on the actions of another lawyer who is just evil walking that wants my judge out of office.

My judge had the misfortune of trying a very touchy case in his first year on the bench, and it will probably dog him the rest of his career. He did the right thing in the case, but this evil walking lawyer -- the defense attorney in that case who lost, is that any big surprise -- ran ads against him and has done everything in his power to make sure John Q. Public doesn't know that.

I can't really say more, but integrity is something of which my judge has plenty. It kills me to think this other lawyer was nearly successful in unseating him.

***************************************

On all those happy notes, I wish I had a picture of the puppies to post right here. Nothing makes you feel better like pictures of puppies, right? Right.

I'll try to get some and post them soon.

Unil then, over and out.


5 comments so far Sueellen - 2006-11-11 09:43:51
Wow, what a few days you are having! Good luck with hubby's surgery; hopefully it will give him some relief! The doctor hasn't said anything yet to me about asthma; but definitely sounds like it is what you have. My stepson has had it all his life; the summer months are the worst for him. One thing I did learn - after you use your inhaler rinse you mouth out with water - he used to get thrush constantly and that was the reason. Hope you have a good weekend and get feeling better!!
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2006-11-11 10:06:49
I'll be thinking about you and your husband. Hope the surgery goes really well!
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2006-11-11 10:24:32
Good luck with all the health issues- I'm thinking of you alland saying a prayer for good things
-------------------------------
m-lewis - 2006-11-11 11:08:37
Melanie, I sent you this whole long reply to your most recent post and Diaryland sent me a message saying they wouldn't post it because they thought it was a SPAM message. It wasn't. I have no idea where that came from. Basically, I said I was sorry you had developed asthma. I, too, have it, although it went undiagnosed most of my life. I'm thrilled for your judge and for you as well. Hope this message makes it. You may end up with two messages from me or none at all -- who knows?
-------------------------------
Carol - 2006-11-11 19:05:04
Welcome to the world of asthma. I started with mine about 3 yrs ago. watch the blook pressure when doing the inhailor. When doing a breathing treatment stand up straight and look at the far wall.(corner of room)Do your treatment. If you taste it a lot you are not tilting your head right. Ask the pharmacist to give you a demo. Good luck
-------------------------------

previous // next