Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Tin foil and scissors, Popsicle sticks and felt, these aren't a few of my favorite things.

2006-10-19
9:51 p.m.

After talking with Cinzel at lunch time today, I think I've been letting the puppies have too much free run of the house. So now I'll try and get them on a regular schedule of some sort. This ought to work well. At least for the one day till the kids are home for the weekend.

Today's total mopping counrt: Four. But three of them were actually before I got my booster class at lunch time. The last one happened tonight while the kids and I were busy and not paying enough attention to them.

The kids and I have spent the evening on a kindergarten project. Our school here in Smalltown LOVES projects. Too bad I HATE them. And I notice they always call them Family Projects, which basically translates to "go ahead and do it for the kid."

Two weeks ago we had to do a project for Oldest Son that was also a Family Project. That one was building a float all about the state they were assigned. Oldest Son had South Carolina. At first we were all gung ho on this project, but boy did that evaporate quickly.

I was amazed when he actually made a 110 on it, because there were clearly some better floats. (Hubby went to the parade where they pulled them down the hallways and took pictures. Some of those kids had fabulous floats.)

You know what I think probably helped him get such a high grade? Well, besides the fact that he met every single criteria plus some extra facts and info, as well as a hand-painted Rainbow Row on the side. I think he did extra well because it looked like a ten-year old made most of the float. His teacher probably thought Hubby and I just built the thing and he did the rest. Not exactly true. Hubby and I are both hopeless in the artistic accomplishments. I was actually somewhat proud of the thing when we finished, but I cringed when I saw pictures of some of the others.

Tonight's project was making a form of transportation. Could be a car, a boat, a rocket, or a skateboard, etc. Your choice totally, but you had to make it out of something around the house, not just bring in a toy.

I'd saved a Kleenex box earlier in the week, and tonight Youngest Son, Oldest Son and I transformed that baby into a....well, a camper. What else do you make with a Kleenex box? A bus? Anyway, we taped a Chevron car in the inside of the box so we'd have wheels, then we covered the box with aluminum foil and added a felt windshield, some windows, a grill, and we're most proud of the green felt awning propped up with Popsicle sticks on the side. Youngest Son wanted it to be able to roll out or roll back in, but please, I have my limits on ability here.

Youngest Son says they're going to race them tomorrow at show & tell. Wonder how his rockin' camper will fare against all the Nascar cars you know will be there. I know, it all depends on the driver.

Over and out.

Edited to Add: When Hubby came home, he cracked up at a racing camper idea. He thinks maybe we should add some pinstripes.


5 comments so far m-lewis - 2006-10-19 23:48:54
How clever you ALL are! Why, I never would have thought of making a camper out of a Kleenex box. Clever, clever, clever! I give you and your sons an A plus for imagination. Hope he wins.
-------------------------------
Carol - 2006-10-20 12:35:02
Are You putting down newspaper for the puppies to go potty on? there is a cleaner that works really well on these area and I will try to remember to get the name for you.
-------------------------------
Grizmom - 2006-10-21 01:41:55
We once made a "box car" out of popsicle sticks. (remember the Box Car Children?) Yeah, we painted it red and fixed it up like they lived there. Son LOVES trains and we used the wheels off one of his trains to make it mobile, etc. It was the saddest damn piece of work I've ever seen! I bet your racin' rockin' camper was an absolute success!
-------------------------------
wannagowest - 2006-10-24 15:24:12
Hey! To answer your questions, yes it was Bank of America that I was talking about. How did you know??? :) My husband is taking medical transcription courses via an online school called MTech. They're supposed to be one of the best and he's doing really well so far. He's got a 96 GPA, and supposedly employers will be beating down our door to hire him if he graduates with that high of a GPA. Whoo!
-------------------------------
m-lewis - 2006-10-28 11:07:04
Hey Mel: Happy Halloween. Check out this very fun halloween web site; if not for yourself, for your kids. It's positively addicting: http://www.cubpack81.com/images/carve_pumpkin.swf
-------------------------------

previous // next