Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Oldest Son's wish comes true.

2006-10-17
10:23 p.m.

The eye doctor is now Oldest Son's favorite person in the whole wide world. After marveling at the state of disrepair of Oldest Son's glasses (which are only about five or six months old...and they're just pitiful) and an exam, he not only okayed the contacts, but said some people actually handle contacts much better, and he thought Oldest Son might be one of those people.

We came home with a two-week trial pair, though we actually have an appointment to go back next Wednesday to see how he's doing. If he's successful, we'll go ahead and order a year's worth of lenses.

There was a technician, Youngest Son, and myself in the training room after the exam. First you have to watch a short video, and then the technician sets you up to put in your first pair. Before we got through with the video, another technician had brought a 12-year-old girl and her mom in the room, too.

Long story short (too late), I think there were just too many of us watching him, and he couldn't relax enough to put the contacts in his eyes. The tech was very patient, though, even taking her own contacts out and putting them back in to show him how to do it. Eventually she taught me how to put his in and how to take them out.

Tonight he tried hard to take them out by himself, but he just hasn't got the nerve to touch his eyeball yet.

Didn't bother me, though. When he finally came out and told me he needed help, I grabbed the pliers and headed in. Ha! Actually, I was able to get them out pretty easily. Once I got him in the headlock, anyway. I kid, I kid.

I think within a day or two he'll be able to do it, though. Tonight after he had them out, I showed him how I can touch my eyeball, and it doesn't hurt. So he spent the next ten minutes in the mirror touching his eyeball.

After the eye doctor appointment, I took the boys over to get haircuts. Let me tell you, between his new contacts and a haircut, Oldest Son is stylin' tonight. He wants me to get him up at 6:30 so he has time to put his contacts in and style his hair before the bus comes.

I did get some of the housework I mentioned earlier today done, and it did make me feel somewhat better. Tomorrow's schedule holds more fun: Picking the kitten up from the vet and taking Youngest Son to the dentist. I really don't know how parents that have to work 9 to 5 get all these things done.

Off to do a few more items on my list before heading to bed.

Over and out.


2 comments so far Megan - 2006-10-18 09:02:20
Two of my cousins had contacts when we were children. They had the hard,inflexable kind that popped out if you pulled at the corner of your eye and held your hand under to catch them before they fell to the floor. The cousin who was my age acciently popped her contact out while we were eating french fies at a hamburger joint. She scoured the floor searching for that thing, finally finding it at the bottom of her basket of french fries -- salty, greasy contact lens. They were also the kind of lens that had to be put through this whole process to clean them. I used to ENVY her because she was nearsighted and had to wear them. I used to beg Mother to buy me eyeglasses. Can you imagine?
-------------------------------
loki-katt - 2006-10-18 12:57:35
One trick OS might try for getting them in is to just get the thing in his eye, don't worry about getting it in the right spot. Then, gently smooth the top of his eyelid and blink a couple of times. This used to work for me all the time. Getting them out was the same, just reverse. Work the lense to the corner of the eye and then pluck it off the lashes. Good luck!
-------------------------------

previous // next