Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

The law of the country.

2006-09-27
9:21 p.m.

Three months ago one of our cats disappeared. She was an adult cat, almost three years old and, I have to say, not the brightest bulb. We searched the ditches and roadsides around here, as well as called the shelter and started watching the new animal photos they post on the website. Finally we gave up. One neighbor shocked me when he said a hawk probably got her. I just wasn't expecting that response, you know?

Two nights ago a kitten showed up on our patio with an obvious intent to stay. After asking around, we found out she actually belongs to the neighbors behind us. They're the same folks whose dogs have been joining us for dinner some nights.

Both kids fell totally in love with the kitten, but I maintained we weren't keeping her, she belongs to somebody. Hubby finally talked to the neighbors today, and they were relieved to hear the kitten was okay. And then said we should keep her, as they have three more kittens, plus the mama cat.

All righty, then. We were not in the market for another cat, but I guess we have one. She hasn't been to the vet at all yet, and is around three to four months old. She'll be scheduled for spaying and shots pronto.

The usual what to name the cat game was played tonight, and I thought we should name it Queenie, which Youngest Son loved, but Hubby and Oldest Son didn't like. They both really liked Prissy (sound familiar, Lizzzygizzzy?), and I'm okay with that, but Youngest Son hates. I really like Queenie better, so I may have to pull rank and make the final decision here.

Queenie/Prissy/whatever we finally decide is a beautiful little thing. Her coat is solid darkish gray, and she has the most gorgeous topaz eyes. Definitely queen-like, in my opinion.

So far she and Jane (our other cat, about six years old) have done the requisite hissing and spitting at each other, but I'm really hoping they start bonding, or at least tolerating each other, quickly.

I told Hubby tonight this is probably the law of country living: Lose a cat, gain another one. Without even trying.

Over and out.

Edited to add: Queenie won out, and Queenie she will be.


3 comments so far Fi - 2006-09-28 01:12:03
It doesn't matter what you name the cat, the kids will modify it anyway. We have a cat called Skank that started life as Stripe, one called Mr Minyamoo who started off as Bean and Yurg who had no name at all. Names evolve to suit the wee beastie.
-------------------------------
Heather - 2006-09-27 22:40:28
Ummmmm, Fluffy? C'mon! I had a cat named Fluffy, she was great. Other snobby sounding cat names... Priscilla? Or how about a combination... Preeny? Qwissy? lol
-------------------------------
loki-Katt - 2006-09-28 08:40:51
I was so sad to hear of Winter's departure. I'm sure Queenie will assume her rightful place as head of house...as soon as Jane decides to let her. Females are way territorial. I know my Rosee took the longest time to accept Lexi, and even now it's only a grudging accpetance, and Lexi's a dog!
-------------------------------

previous // next