Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

New carpal tunnel and possible next new Hubby.

2006-09-19
11:22 a.m.

I'm having trouble getting going today, and I blame that on everyone but myself. Welcome to my twisted reality.

Hubby had carpal tunnel and ulnar nerve release surgery on his left arm yesterday. He is doing fine, and is asleep right now, but he had a restless night. And watched a lot of TV in our bed, which means I had a restless night. Usually I can sleep through a TV on, but I think I woke up every time he moved, thinking he'd need something.

Youngest Son stopped short at the door this morning to tell me, "I need my hug!" I'm going to keep that little boy, in spite of his hard-headed ways.

Oldest Son tore on out to the driveway, no hug needed. He's right smack in the middle of figuring out where to draw the line on needing/wanting as much from Hubby and I. While I am sometimes mildly aching from it, I am also highly amused by it. There's a whole lot of push and pull going on with him.

In the middle of picking up Hubby's meds and dinner for the family * last night, I got a call on my cell phone from another mom in the soccer league Oldest Son plays in. She was desperately searching for a player from OS's team to switch with her son on the other team. (There's only two teams in his age range here in Smalltown.)

On the one hand, I really hated to say OS would switch, but on the other hand she was relaying some scheduling problems her family was having, and I could so identify with those. We hung up with me promising to call her back after I'd spoken with Hubby and OS.

I ran it by Hubby before asking OS if he wanted to switch, and Hubby was very hesitant about it. He really likes OS's coach. We decided we would ask OS, though, and let him decide. We both thought he would say no. And then he readily agreed to switch. We made double sure he understood...you would always be on the other team, not just for next practice, you do understand? Yes, yes, he understood.

I really thought he wouldn't take to the idea, and I had already formed in my mind the phone call back to the other mom telling her OS didn't want to switch. I was so surprised. But luckily, before I could make the return phone call, OS's coach called and asked me to please not switch, that he really likes OS and wants him to play on his team **, and that he was going to talk to the secretary of the league and see if they couldn't switch the game schedule around some to help out the other mom.

(* We had a treat of Popeye's chicken. Haven't had it in forever, and it was so spicy greasy good.)

(** And with that comment, I made a mental note to marry this man, should God forbid something happen to Hubby.)

Phheeewww. Off the hook there.

_______________________________________

Guess I'll go make a list of all the things I really do need to do today so I can get something accomplished. When I'm in my don't-know-what-to-do-with-myself mode, this is the only way I can get anything done, is make a list to scratch off things.

Over and out.


2 comments so far Cindy - 2006-09-19 13:06:22
You are such a Bob. :)
-------------------------------
Lizzzygizzy - 2006-09-19 17:24:42
I didn't know "hubby" had carpal tunnel. But I do want a blow by blow report on his recovery since I know eventually I'll have to "go under the knife".
-------------------------------

previous // next