Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

He'll never let me forget it, either.

2006-08-04
11:18 p.m.

I'm updating tonight to tell y'all about something I did this week. Something stupid. And it's at the request of Cinzel. She loves me to tell the stories that show how clueless I am sometimes. Good thing I have the ability to laugh heartily at myself, or that might hurt my feelings!!

Thursday morning was the first day of school for Oldest Son. We had been talking all week about Thursday morning, having to get up early, etc. Youngest Son doesn't start until next Tueday, even though he's in the same school. They hold the kindergartners off a few days.

Anyway, got Oldest Son up Thursday morning, rushed him through breakfast, and we headed out to wait for the bus. And we waited and waited and waited. Finally, I told OS I had to go in and put on my make-up, because I had to be in court that morning, but that I'd be watching from the inside.

Still the bus didn't come. Finally it dawned on me that I would have to take OS to school before dropping off YS at day care, which meant we must leave....immediately.

I was going nuts, throwing clothes on and rushing around, and about that time Hubby came in from work. I told him the bus didn't come (dammit!!) and that we would have to bring OS to school. He quickly assessed I was going nuts and offered to bring them both...OS to school and YS to day care. Which meant I had an extra 15 minutes. Yay me!

Within that 15 minutes Hubby came back, and he had OS with him. I was confused. Then Hubby told me that school doesn't start till tomorrow morning. (Insert stunned look followed by embarrassed grin here.)

I had to add, well, I bet a BUNCH of kids were there. After all, the L****** County Schools all start today. He said, Nope, it was just he and OS and some teachers.

That's when I started laughing hysterically and nearly peed my pants. I'm sorry that Hubby got the embarrassing part of being told at the school, but damn, how funny is that? I'm sure Oldest Son will remind me for the rest of his life about the time I made him go to fifth grade a day early.

In reading this, it's not nearly as funny as it was that morning. Someday I will have to tell you the story about the day I brought my car to the wrong dealership to be repaired and made an even bigger fool of myself!

Over and out.


2 comments so far Lizzzygizzzy - 2006-08-05 13:54:07
You know now that all the teachers have ya'll pegged as the parents that can't wait to get rid of your kids--you are soo anxious for school to start that you bring them a day early! LOL
-------------------------------
Fi - 2006-08-06 20:48:31
You are not alone. I once turned up for a wedding on the wrong day. We all have these small lapses.
-------------------------------

previous // next