Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Watch my back...I'm going in.

2006-07-19
12:46 p.m.

For several months I have planned to clean out my closet. And for several months I have opened that door and...said, "Nope, not today."

With a lot of court time coming up, I decided I'd better go in and find something to wear for at least the first week. And as OCD as it sounds, I'm going to even line them up for the week in my closet, because next week will be probably the hardest mornings, time-wise, I will have had in a long time.

Youngest Son will be going to his regular day care all week. Getting him to that and me to work on time is hard enough. (And you just are not late for court. You leap a tall building if you have to, but you don't keep the judge waiting.) Oldest Son is going to a week of YMCA day camp next week, too, which will mean me dropping him off in one town (after dealing with Youngest Son) and then getting myself to the town I'll be working in about 25 miles away.

I'm sure a lot of moms do this kind of thing every day, but driving and dropping off both kids in two different places this far apart is stressful to me. I am so not looking forward to it. And the last thing I need to be doing is trying on and looking for clothes to wear for the day.

When I was working freelance, I didn't need to have that many clothes. Four or five nice outfits would do, because you see different clients every day. Sometimes I was lucky to have three decent outfits with interchangeable tops/sweaters.

In court, I really try to make it at least two weeks without a repeat. And in the three-week terms I start wearing some slightly questionable mixes the last week.

As of now I've cleaned out one-half, and Oldest Son and I have to run to town. I'm going to finish the other half while Dr. Phil is on. And then I'll sit down and sob at all the money I've spent on clothes I either didn't like that well or grew out of.

Actually, I won't sob. Though I hate the amount of money I've wasted on clothes, well, sometimes you just got to clean house and get them out. More than anything, I usually feel a huge sense of relief when I finally get rid of the ones that aren't working anymore.

I'm going to try to do some work clothes shopping in Huntsville, while Hubby and the kids are in the pool. Cinzel needs to come along so she can steer me AWAY from the t-shirts. All I really like to wear are t-shirts and shorts or jeans.

Oh, and Cinzel, I found a brown J. Jill skirt of yours in my closet that fits me. Keeping it, because it matches perfectly that red/brown top I bought last weekend in Louisiana. I claim eminent domain on it.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Pattypat - 2006-07-19 16:08:43
Good for you! I always feel so virtuous and "cleansed" when I have a good closet clean. And I have to tell you - when I know what I'm going to wear for the week, I am so much more productive. I do the same for my son - we have one of those hanging things that he calls the "clothes holes" and we fill it up on Sunday so he has everything he needs for the week. Good grief, how boring can I be...coldw@ter cr33k is also having a great 50% off sale - email me if you want the code.
-------------------------------
chocolate chaos - 2006-07-19 17:03:10
there are clothes other than tshirts and jeans????!?!?!?!
-------------------------------
Pattypat - 2006-07-20 14:23:36
Glad to pass it on! Use offer code WJH1474. Have fun!
-------------------------------

previous // next