Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Still hot, still sad, still house-payments poor. Calgon, take me away!

2006-07-17
1:52 a.m.

Wow, I just read my last entry, and I see that the kids and I had recently returned from Louisana then. And the kids and I have just now returned from Louisana, too, but this time we were only there three days (and we've had a two-day trip in between those). One thing that hasn't changed: It is still hotter than the center of the sun there.

I know I haven't been writing here, and I appreciate the e-mails asking why. It's because I was waiting to have something good to say. I'm all about grief right now, and grief is a tired topic for anyone not in the current throes of it. And I know some of you will sympathize and tell me it isn't, but really, yeah, it is, and I know it.

Because I just can't keep this to myself, though, I will say that my brother's mother-in-law had a dream two nights ago wherein she saw Mike and Fay walking together down the levee, their backs to her, walking away. Mike had his leg back, and they were holding hands. She called my mom and told her that, and when my mom told me, I just cried. I am so jealous. I have asked and asked him to send me some kind of reassurance, and I'm not getting it. Tonight in thinking about it, I thought maybe I should be asking Fay, instead of Mike.

Do you hear the crazy I am? I am thinking of ways to outwit and manipulate the dead.

***************************************

After working a little last week and a little this week, I go back to work for real next week. Two weeks in court, two weeks out of court, then three weeks back in. My biggest worry is what I'll wear, because it is so freaking hot, and I haven't lost any weight this summer for sure. In fact, I haven't even weighed in probably two months now, and I'm afraid to do it.

***************************************

Next weekend (actually leaving on Thursday), Hubby and kids and I are going on a much-needed four-day weekend trip. We're headed to Huntsville, Alabama. Since we only have the afore-mentioned four days, we wanted to go someplace close so we wouldn't spend two of the four days driving forever. This should only take us about two and a half hours each way. I've been scouting fun things to do, but really all the kids care about is a hotel with a swimming pool.

***************************************

In house news, (about the most boring drawn-out topic I talk about these days, but it's almost over, I promise), we may -- emphasize may -- be signing off with the relocation company as early as Tuesday. I can't remember if I mentioned this in my last entry or not, but we did get a buyer in the last hours as the relocation company was working on our buy-out. Selling to the outside buyer nets us a bonus of $4,600. And we're up to $3,400 in extra repairs that this buyer wants done. So much for most of the bonus.

And the downstairs AC unit went out on the 4th of July. Even though we have a home warranty on that, the unit is no longer available, and we'll have to pony up an extra $500 for the part the warranty doesn't cover. Can I hear anyone say "racket"????

We are really hoping to have our part completed for sure before we leave Thursday, though the relocation company won't be selling to the outside buyer till Friday. I could relax in a hotel somewhere a lot easier if I knew it was a done deal and our proceeds were in the bank account already.

An old friend called me at my mom's this weekend, and we spent a long time catching up on the last year of each other's lives. I hadn't talked to her since shortly after Hurricane Katrina.

She and her husband went through the same real estate nightmare ten years ago, only their house didn't sell for ten months, as opposed to our seven months. She said it took them a long time to recover financially from that, and I can see that for us as well. We've drained all our reserves, and have been robbing Peter to pay Paul a good bit of the time this last couple months. Now we can send Peter and Paul packing, but it'll take us a long time to build back up what we had.

***************************************

Thank goodness Big Brother has started again. I missed my reality TV! I've been wondering what was up with Will's face the last two weeks. He just looked so puffy. Tonight's show had him talking about doing his own botox, and that he believes everyone could use some help here and there. He needs to lay off that "physician heal thyself" BS.

Over and out.


2 comments so far Fi - 2006-07-17 10:08:10
welcome back
-------------------------------
Loki-Katt - 2006-07-17 11:28:12
While you're in Huntsville, you may want to check out Marshall Space Flight Center. They used to have a really good visitor's center and the boys may enjoy it. It's really the only thing I can think of in the area. Enjoy your trip, you need to get away. PS, save me a little Calgon...I need to get away myself. :-)
-------------------------------

previous // next