Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

S is for Strawberry.

2006-05-08
11:43 a.m.

I used to think those calendars some families keep with everybody's activies all written in in a different color ink were just so much bunk. Like you can't really keep up with the schedule of a couple of kids in your head. Note: I stand corrected.

From now through the end of June is a most complicated labryinth of baseball schedules for both boys. And now through the end of May includes end-of-school-year activities for both boys, too. My head hurts just trying to keep it all straight.

***************************************

This weekend we went down to Louisiana to borrow my brother's truck till we purchase another vehicle. It was a fast trip, and I feel like I got to see my mom and brother for about 30 minutes, and I had to drive a total of 10 hours (counting the trip there and back) to do it.

On my way out of town yesterday afternoon, I stopped at the roadside to buy a flat of Louisiana strawberries. They were absolutely gorgeous, and I hurried to clean a bunch of them as soon as I came in with them last night. Ugh. They're way too tart. Not nearly sweet enough. I've put some sugar on them, but though they are beautiful, they just don't have the flavor they should. I feel cheated. We'll eat them still, but they're not nearly as good as I hoped/wanted them to be.

***************************************

After talking with both of them this weekend, there seems to be some sort of issue going on with my brothers. I can't quite put my finger on what it is, but I suspect it has to do with my oldest brother giving his opinions on how my middle brother should handle his son. My nephew is being a royal pain in the ass right now, and has been one for quite some time. My middle brother, his dad, doesn't seem to want to deal with it, though, and I'm betting my oldest brother is giving out the advice and it's not being taken too well. Just guessing.

Oldest Brother doesn't have any kids, and it's a crying shame, let me tell you, because in his mind he is the absolute best parent. He would have no problem controlling his own kids, and he'll have a go at your kids, too, when you're visiting, even if they're not acting up. It makes me roll my eyes plenty.

***************************************

Hubby and I went over to my mom's house while we were there yesterday, and we were both shocked at how much still hasn't been done in the area. There are FEMA trailers lining the driveways of her neighborhood, but it looks like hardly anyone is actually in their house. Even more amazing is how much debris and just destruction there still is. And Mom and my brother both think it looks so much better than it did.

Over and out.


3 comments so far Summer Gale - 2006-05-08 13:37:17
I'm glad you mentioned it. The second you said Louisiana I wondered what you would see down there. I hope everyone is tucked in for the *next* hurricane season soon. BTW my daughter has one of those calenders. She couldn't live without it.
-------------------------------
Megan - 2006-05-08 16:41:21
Yum. Strawberries. My "pepper" of a mother-in-law hung a Wal-Mart sack full of them, just picked out of her garden, on our front door knob, along with the morning newspaper. We ate some on our cereal, whole and un-sugared. They were not tart in the least.
-------------------------------
Heather - 2006-05-08 17:31:49
My husband was here all through Hurricane Hugo, and they have video of before & after, and it amazes me. Looks like their street was bombed. He told me it took about two years before all the debris was gone. Yeesh.
-------------------------------

previous // next