Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Just stopping by to update my riveting life tales here.

2006-04-28
11:06 p.m.

Tomorrow is the all-baseball all-day day. Oldest Son's team is only scheduled to play two games, but there's a lot of other games scheduled between and around those games, so we don't really know what time anything's going to be played. I feel my sunburn already.

Tonight his coach threw in one last extra practice, just for fun, and I must admit they're looking better and better.

Note to Fi at Alleged Wife: A scrimmage is just a practice game that doesn't count towards the overall scores. Supposedly they weren't going to keep score at all that night, but I can assure you every child on my son's team knew they had been beat.

Oldest Son has been so impatient to find out what his team's name would be. There's nine teams, all sponsored by different businesses in the area, and I think the coaches just drew randomly to see who their sponsor would be. Oldest Son's coach was not lucky in the draw.

I had to stifle a very hearty laugh when Oldest Son ran to the van to show me his shirt he got at the end of practice last night. Their sponsor? Merle Norman Cosmetics. And Oldest Son's quote? "Mom, I guess we're going to be called The Cosmetics!!" He has no idea what Merle Norman is or even that cosmetics are make-up, and I didn't have the heart to tell him just then. Their shirts are black with a teal blue accent. Spiffy.

We get Youngest Son's shirt and learn his team name tomorrow, just before they're to take their pictures in them. I do hope they're not sponsored by Mary Kay. (Which, by the way, I think is an excellent idea, getting their pictures made before they actually start playing in their uniforms. One of the moms had to have arranged that.)

***************************************

Funny story that happened at work yesterday. (And Cinzel, I can't believe I forgot to tell you this story today...that pesky nosey bailiff, it's all his fault, making me worry more about running him off than telling my funny news. I may just start barking any time he comes around again).

Anyway, we had a sad case yesterday of a woman who has severe mental problems. She, as many do, got off her medicine and did some crazy things, including assualting a law officer or two along the way.

Yesterday afternoon my judge was discussing her case very informally with her lawyer. The judge was surprised she had assaulted an officer, why she didn't look big enough to have assaulted an officer. Her lawyer informed him that since she's been off her medicine she's lost 60 to 70 pounds, and that apparently her meds stimulate her appetite a good bit.

Then the clerk had to throw in that that's probably why she stopped taking her medicine, she didn't want to be fat.

And then my judge had to stick his long scrawny foot in his big flapping mouth and say: Oh, you're probably right. I don't blame her, I'd rather be crazy than overweight.

He knew when I stood up and turned around that he had just said something very, very stupid. I told him that, darn the luck, but apparently I'd been stricken with both conditions. The look on his face was priceless. :)

Disclaimer: Please don't send me comments on what an insensitive jerk my judge is. They are people just like all of us who occasionally say stupid things. And he's actually very concerned about this woman, but his manly brain just didn't think, like so many of them don't, before jumping on the clerk's comment. And now I have something to hold over his head and beat him with forever.

***************************************

In deer/car related news, the insurance company totalled our car. They were supposed to pick it up last Friday, but didn't come till Tuesday. In fact, Youngest Son and I were about to leave when the truck came to get it, and Youngest Son was thrilled to watch them load it.

We did scare the driver, though, who didn't realize anyone was home till we opened the garage door. Then he spent the next ten minutes telling me how he had to get a new engine in his truck, and that's how come he didn't make it the Friday before and he was awful sorry. We have an extra-long driveway here, so we really weren't concerned about it sitting there a few extra days, but apparently he was.

Right now we're still borrowing my brother's truck, but will return that probably sometime next weekend. Then we will be down to one vehicle till we buy my mother-in-law's Camry. The Camry purchase was already in the works before the deer incident, but I guess we'll be pushing it up a little now. We still won't be buying it till we sell our house in Charleston, though.

***************************************

Which brings me to the house in Charleston topic. No, it hasn't sold, but our contract with our real estate agent ran out this last week, and suddenly she is very attentive. We're not sure if that's because: a.) There is an actual increased activity in sales there; b.) She is afraid we won't renew her contract (which if it wasn't such a pain to get a contract with a new one we probably wouldn't renew hers), or c.) She is rushing to sell it before Hubby's company completes the buy-out process we've entered into.

Whichever of these factors is motivating her, we don't care. We just want the damn. house. sold. pronto.

***************************************

Hubby is on a new medication. He has also researched the side effects to said new medication, and is convinced he is suffering near 'bout every single one of them. Ain't the internet great, with its instant medical news?

***************************************
Time to move the baseball pants from the washer to the dryer and head to bed. Must be rested for my fun day tomorrow.

Over and out.


1 comments so far megan - 2006-04-29 11:43:26
Why do bailiffs have to be such busy-bodies anyway? Most (not all) of our bailiffs talk my ear off. The second I walk in the door they spot me, make a bee-line for my station and talk non-stop. All the while I am trying to set up my equipment, write down the cases and get a cup of coffee. It makes me feel better to realize that bailiffs must be the same all over the country.
-------------------------------

previous // next