Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I used to like Bambi. Now I plan to get a hunting license, so I can do my part.

2006-04-15
11:44 p.m.

I think we (really Hubby) have been indoctrinated into country living now. Hubby hit a deer at 5:00 this morning in the hills of Alabama. He said he never saw even a glimpse of it until he saw its face in the windshield.

It tore up the grill, left headlight, the left front quarter panel? fender? whatever it's called, and also the driver's side door. In fact, the door can barely be opened, and Hubby said he had to squeeze out of it when he got to work. (Which means this fat girl won't be driving it anytime soon.)

Fortunately, Hubby was okay. He is an amazingly good driver with quick reflexes and the ability to remain calm in the face of dangerous situations. The fact that I do trust his driving skills is of great comfort to me as he leaves home every evening for work, and on Saturday mornings at 4:30. He has a 60-mile commute one way through very hilly and winding terrain. And he's patient with me, always calling me when he arrives and when he's leaving after work, so I'll know when to expect him. I know that must get old for him, but he knows how scared I am of traffic accidents.

Since we are still paying two housenotes (gag cough sputter..have I mentioned that less than a hundred times recently?), after four months of it, we are going broke in a New York minute. This month is especially tight, but we were hanging. Until we need to pay a $500 deductible for car repairs and pay for a rental car. Hello money shortage! Nice to see you again so soon!

Luckily, both of my brothers have an extra vehicle they offered to loan us, but one is two hours away and the other is five hours away. We are driving down to Jackson, the one two hours away, tomorrow morning shortly after the Easter Bunny arrives. We won't be staying long, as Hubby has to get back home in time to sleep for his Sunday night shift at work. What a relaxing Easter, huh?

Cinzel, I saw your mom in the Wal-Mart tonight, and she really made me laugh. She told me with all mock seriousness, "Wow, he's really lucky! Better he hit a deer than that Easter Bunny, though!" And I told her I was keeping her key, because one of these days when my husband and kids drive me over the edge, I'm coming back to live at her house.

We did all manage to settle down and enjoy coloring Easter eggs tonight. Youngest Son has no concept of being gentle with eggs. Crack! he dropped them into the dye. Twice we had to stop him from digging them out of the dye to eat them. He loves boiled eggs, but I guess he's never paid attention to the fact of me peeling them before I give them to him.

After I got Youngest Son in bed, Oldest Son helped me fill their Easter baskets. He cracks me up, feeling all superior because he knows the Easter Bunny isn't real. He had a great time helping me fill their baskets. I can't help but remember how he was at Youngest Son's present age, and then wondering how he'll be in five more years, when Youngest Son is 9 and he's 14.

Guess I'll head to bed. Tomorrow looks to be a very busy day kicking off my three-week court term. I had thought I'd have two days of beading this weekend, but it looks like no days of beading instead. Hope I have enough made already....(you NEVER think you have enough jewelry made).

Over and out.



3 comments so far Holly - 2006-04-16 08:55:27
I'm glad he's okay. Deer can be scary. Where I live there are usually a few deer car accidents every year. I once cam close when I lived back in Mayville, and a herd of deer jumped accross he road out of nowhere. Fortunately I had enough time to stop. Whew!!
-------------------------------
Lizzzygizzzy - 2006-04-16 12:20:45
I remember when I hit a deer. When I got home I called the insurance company. They said I should have called the cops and filed a traffic report. They said I should have witnesses. I told them the only "witness" was the deer and he ran off and didn't feel like talking. Glad hubby is OK!!
-------------------------------
Megan - 2006-04-17 19:47:17
I read your former QVC post too. I loved what you said about the court reporter in you pleaded with them to stop talking over each other. AMEN! My judge never even seems to notice until I turn and grumble something about it over my shoulder. I also hate it when attorney's mumble in the direction of their feet -- or the wall at the back of the courtroom. I'm so sorry your husband hit a deer. So far that's never happened to me or my husband -- or my children, thank God. I'm glad he survived -- the deer never do. How sad.
-------------------------------

previous // next