Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Mmmmm....two-hour lunches.

2006-02-16
12:33 p.m.

Since my judge will be running for office again soon, he has started picking up his lunchtime speaking/being seen engagements. Today he's speaking to...I don't know who. When he told me we were recessed for a two-hour lunch break, I scooted out of there so fast I didn't hear what group got his presence today. I like this, though!! I've had a bowl of red beans & rice and caught up on Diaryland journals.

The builders are getting very near to being finished!!! Can I get a Hoo! Ray!? I should not admit this, but I am the biggest bitch to live with when we are simply taking a room apart to paint it. You can imagine how distressing nearly SIX WEEKS of having builders making messes and not cleaning them up quick enough for my liking has been for me. My poor husband.

And I don't have very good...imagination, I guess it is. When someone describes knocking down this wall and adding a doorway here and cutting this back to here and laying the flooring right here blah blah blah, well, I'm still back on knocking out the wall part. I try to picture things, but I'm just not good at seeing them in my mind.

All that to say I LOVE LOVE LOVE the way the stairwell leading up to the upstairs bedroom has turned out!!! And it wasn't until yesterday when they moved the back door out about three feet to meet the stairwell that I could finally see it. I really thought it was going to have that "added on" look, you know? Instead, it really does look like the house was built this way. They've taken a lot of care to match things like the floor and paint and paneling (in the garage).

Plus, where they worked on the hallway bathroom to make it wheelchair accesible for my brother...LOVE that, too! And I really thought I would hate that, but I love my brother far more than I thought I'd hate that extra doorway, so planned it anyway. Turns out it is just a huge improvement in the overall bathroom.

This morning the owner of the construction company showed up at 6:30 to check on the work. While I did have clothes on, I hadn't done a thing to my bedhead nor brushed my teeth, and he got the joy of having me gush on and on to him about how much I love the work. Lucky him, huh? :)

Okay, gotta head back to work. Over and out.


1 comments so far Megan - 2006-02-18 13:22:49
I'm glad you found me. We are in the middle of a construction project as well -- including the kitchen. So our everyday china is stacked on the dining room table, and our not-used-as-often breakables are stacked randomly out of harm's way (I hope). They've just finished completely re-doing my youngest son's room. I'll probably do a blog about it soon. Do you think your judge will be re-elected? The judge I work for has been in office for 21 years. He's up for re-election in two more years and he hasn't decided whether or not he'll run again. Another elected judge in our circuit says that if my judge doesn't run, he wants to hire me as well as the trial court assistant -- the ones he has plan to retire in two years. P.S. Be gald you're putting in wheelchair accessable hallways and doors. That's what is being suggested in all new house plans today.
-------------------------------

previous // next