Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Hurry up!!!!!!!

2006-02-09
9:01 a.m.

Yesterday morning I asked Hubby to ask the contractor overseeing our work here when their anticipated completion date might be. I specifically asked him to phrase it nice like that. I heard how he asked it: My wife wants to know when y'all will be done. Never ask your husband to ask something subtly. Should have done it myself.

This morning there's more people than ever out here working, which is good. Yesterday we only had two, and a lot of the day it was only one. Tuesday we only had one all day. I am tired of my house being torn up -- nearly every room has something going on -- and I want it done and them gone. Sure, they're really nice folks, but we're now at nearly five weeks later, and I'm ready for them to go.

Unfortunately, Hubby found something else yesterday that is part of the original building on the house that doesn't meet code (!!!) and will need to be fixed. So another project. It won't be huge, but needs fixed.

We are really, really beginning to believe our inspector we paid $300 to inspect this house never even set foot on the property. He comes highly recommended in this area, but I can't believe some of the stuff that's been overlooked. If we can find it, shouldn't an inspector have been able to find it!!?

Wednesday is early release day for this school district, so Oldest Son gets home earlier. Yesterday afternoon Hubby woke up at 1:00 (more on that later) and decided he wanted me to drive with him to get a haircut. I knew we might miss OS by about 10 or 15 minutes, but we do occasionally let him stay at home for a little while by himself. We told the woman builder (who was the only one here at that time) to please tell him we'd be right back if he beat us home. She promised to do so, then added she would be teaching him how to smoke cigarettes and how to drive before we could get home. :) We really like her.

Anyway, she told us when we came in that he'd been home for about 10 minutes, and what a sweet kid he really is. He'd come back out in the garage where she was sawing stuff and offered her a soft drink and asked her how she was doing, etc. Ahhh, does my mom heart proud.

Then she added he came back out a few minutes later and told her, "My mama sure does want to know when you guys are going to finish at least one thing." Must. talk. to. him. about. tact. And not embarrassing his mom.

Hubby is having trouble sleeping during the day, because our room is so bright. Unlike his wife, who can sleep anywhere, anytime, no matter how bright, he just can't do it. He's been sleeping from 9 to around 12, then getting up till 2 or 3, then heading back to bed till around 7:30 or so. Basically shift sleeping.

We run the humidifier in the room during the day to give him some white noise, but the light still keeps him up. Last night after he left for work, I broke out the Reynolds Wrap and tin-foiled our windows. I know, it looks lovely, and my neighbor John will tell everyone at the courthouse I put foil in the windows, so I must be growing pot, but you wouldn't believe how much darker that room is today.

The good thing about the room being built upstairs is it will be pitch black. Between that and running a fan or something for noise, he really should be able to rest much better.

That's all I can think of to write about today. Over and out.


2 comments so far Pattypat - 2006-02-09 11:20:25
We had the same sleeping issues for awhile and finally invested in black out shades - made all the difference in the world! Good luck contending with all the contractors!
-------------------------------
Megan - 2006-02-10 08:39:11
Sorry I haven't written in such a long time. My mother lost her struggle with Alzheimer's disease just before Thanksgiving. And I'm just now getting back into a routine of sorts. I haven't started posting in Diaryland -- yet. Don't know if I will because they haven't answered even one of my e-mail inquiries. I have, however, opened a new blog in Google's Blogspot (tea-tyme.blogspot.com). We're having some major repairs made to our home right now too. Everything is in such a mess 'round here, but everything will look so good once they are finished. Anyway, I feel your pain. Megan, your Arkansas court reporter friend
-------------------------------

previous // next