Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Somebody needs to finish something 'round here!!

2006-02-02
9:40 a.m.

Hubby started nights last night. He's been gone a lot since we moved, attending different schools and going back to finish up some business in Charleston, but it still seemed different with him gone last night. I had a lot of trouble sleeping, thinking about him up working.

Now we get the joy of him starting to sleep days four days a week. It's raining cats and dogs here today, thank goodness. We turned on the humidifier in our bedroom to hopefully block out some of the builders' noise, but I think the sun bothers him more. That's not a problem today, and tomorrow looks like it may be more of the same.

We still don't know exactly what his schedule will be, but it looks like it may work out that on Wednesday and Thursday nights he'll leave at 8:30 P.M. for work, and Friday and Saturday nights he'll leave at 6:00. Cinzel knows how worried I've been over child care issues...mainly finding someone I trust in a town where I don't know anyone. And I'd have to trust that someone to pick up my kids and take them home on certain days, and ahhhhhhhh, that makes me crazy to find someone I trust like that without knowing them much better than I know anyone so far. So it looks like that may not be an issue anyway...pphhhheeeewww.

The kids and I are going to go down to my mom and brother's this weekend. My mom's already got a schedule all planned out for us to do. She's obviously forgotten how much fun shopping (especially for kitchen cabinets and a couch) is with kids. Well, Oldest Son would probably really like to stay with my brother, playing games on the computer. Then I'd just have Youngest Son, who isn't nearly as unruly when his brother isn't keeping him all stirred up. I can't imagine trying to keep them quiet for a couple days so Hubby can sleep, so we're just going to leave. I'm really hopeful by the following weekend Hubby's office/daytime bedroom upstairs will be done.

Actually, for that matter, I'm hoping they'll be done with everything. Right now they have the kitchen cabinets in a mess where they are adding two more outlets. The den is a mess where they plan to put in a phone line behind the family computer. Oldest Son's room is a huge mess where they've cut a doorway in his wall to lead to the kids' bathroom (we needed one that would be wide enough for a wheelchair, for when my brother comes to visit), which of course also means the kids' bathroom is a mess.

And Youngest Son's bedroom is a mess, because his closet had to be emptied while they worked on the stairwell and the upstairs bathroom. They had to lower the ceiling in the closet, which they've done, but they haven't finished the ceiling or painted in there, so YS still has no closet.

And you know what they're working on today? Moving the back door out the three feet or so where it's flush with the stairwell. As far as I can tell, they're not doing anything on all these other projects. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! The messes are driving. me. nuts!!!!!!!! I'm truly feeling Grizmom's pain now!!!! And as for Coffeegrind's remodelling project? Oh, I'd have to leave while it was done, or my marriage wouldn't survive. I'm doing my best to control my nervous tic when I hear them sawing/cutting/hammering in some new area, but it's getting harder and harder. I now hide in my office as much as possible.

The lady in the crew beats all the other guys here in the morning, and usually she comes on in and has coffee while I'm getting YS ready. I really like her, and she's definitely a hard worker and a smart worker. She told me this morning she was really sorry about having so much torn up at the same time, and that she told the main boss yesterday they needed to finish up the kids' bedrooms so we wouldn't have such a mess inside. I wanted to hug her. I hadn't mentioned a word to her about how much it was driving me crazy, but I guess we just think alike.

Over and out.


1 comments so far Fi - 2006-02-02 19:29:45
Your tales of renovating are starting to make me question my decision to do our bathroom. I am wondering if I really want a new bathroom that badly.
-------------------------------

previous // next