Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

Friendly folks here.

2006-01-14
4:53 p.m.

It seems like we tear the house up more the more we try to unpack and settle in. I'd guesstimate we have 90% of the boxes out of the house, though, and will call the moving company Monday to put in a box pick-up request.

Cinzel and BZ were supposed to come over this afternoon, but we cancelled and rescheduled for maybe next weekend. We have all had such a long week, we needed a day to regroup. She did recommend a restaurant for us to eat lunch at today, though, when we made our weekly trip to Lowe's, and it was very, very good. Hubby declared it one of the best hamburger steaks yet. (That is his favorite dish in all the world.) And the portions were so generous, I don't have to cook tonight, either.

A funny note about that restaurant, though: They have a sign on the door saying they don't accept debit or credit cards. I saw it and asked Hubby if he had enough cash on him, because I knew I didn't. He didn't either, and we discussed that he and the kids would go ahead and sit down, and I would run to the nearest ATM. There was a lady standing by the front door of the restaurant trying to get a cell phone signal, and she heard our conversation. When I asked her if she knew where the nearest ATM was, she gave me directions, then told me she had had to wait at the table one time while her husband ran to an ATM because they didn't see the sign until after they'd eaten. :)

Turns out she and her husband and kids were sitting at the table next to Hubby and our kids, and she was very friendly, asking if I'd had any trouble finding it, etc. We talked with them quite a bit, and before they left they wrote their names and phone number for us in case we needed any suggestions for things in the area, since we are new here. We were both blown away with how nice they were.

I've been working in my office today, and I've moved the kitchen trash can in here, because it's huge and -- well, because I haven't located my office trash can yet, either. Oldest Son just brought in a bag of burned microwave popcorn to throw in it. Gag. May have to change this bag sooner than I thought.

Apparently the new microwave is stronger than our old one. I've given him the scientific method to cooking microwave popcorn, listening to how many kernels are popping, and I can hear he pulled the second one out a tad early. Oh well.

Love love love my new office. This will definitely be my favorite room in the house! My work space is open and has plenty of drawers and shelves and cabinets and I am oh so spoiled. Out of one window I can see the highway that leads to Alabama...five miles to it, to be exact. Out of the front two windows I can see our front yard, part of our long driveway, the across-the-road neighbors, and the field with the emus, with an occasional goat thrown in for laughs.

Unfortunately, we still haven't seen the horse down the road hanging out at the fence anymore. There's plenty of horses between here and town, but that one horse was always waiting at the fence, ready to be fed. In our minds, Youngest Son and I had adopted him as our morning friend, and we are both getting concerned about his health!

Guess I'll go see what other messes I can make in this house all in the name of "moving in!"

Over and out.


1 comments so far Cindy - 2006-01-14 20:57:53
All the years I lived there, I never ate at the place. It's sounds damn fine!! I wonder if they ladle grease on like the Hummingbird... :)
-------------------------------

previous // next