Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I'll have a new house with a side order of bronchitis.

2005-12-31
1:22 p.m.

After many trials and tribulations, we were finally able to close on the new house. We were supposed to be going to closing on Tuesday of this week, but didn't actually go till yesterday afternoon at 4:00. And we've had so many weird things happen with the closing, I began to wonder, damn, are we not supposed to buy this house??? But since we actually moved into it on Wednesday, I didn't want to move out...just wanted all the problems to go away.

The problems have come from all different directions, too. First it was with the mortgage company. Our original contact person there went on vacation, and her fill-in had to basically start over. But she had trouble starting over, because she couldn't find any of the paperwork we'd already sent the week before. And she didn't have the appraisal, either. WTF? We found all this out on the Tuesday we were to close.

Yesterday, in the HOUR before we were to finally close, we found out our relocation agent had quit her job, and the lawyer's office here wasn't showing our downpayment was wired in. A fill-in for our relocation agent managed to track it down, and it had been wired here eight days ago.

THEN, the real estate agent we have been working with all. this. time asks us if we have our certified check for the remaining closing costs. Excuse me? We've bought homes before and never had to have a certified check! But in the meantime, could you not have mentioned this little tiny fact more than TEN MINUTES before we close??????????? He knew we just moved here on Tuesday and don't have a bank account locally yet. His mother works at a bank, and she let Hubby write a check to her bank.

And last but not least, the owner/builder of the house slapped his calculator down on the table at closing and said, "I'm not agreeing to this! This wasn't the deal we agreed on!" while the lawyer was going over the details on the sale. I never even flinched. We'd had so many problems up till then, why would I think this part would work like it should??

The lawyer was able to cool him down, though, and show him where he got a credit or whatever...I was having trouble paying attention, because my damn children were acting like great big turds behind me, and I spent most of the closing hissing at them to SETTLE DOWN.

Oldest Son did not want to go to the closing, wanted me to bring him home, etc. all the way to the lawyer's office, so I can't say I was surprised they acted like they've never been in public before, but I am so disappointed in him. I asked him to please help keep Youngest Son entertained while we go through this paperwork. He entertained him all right, by getting him so riled up and tickling him, etc. and then asking me "What? What???" every time I turned around to give him a dirty look.

I wanted to BEAT HIM all the way to the car, but since there were plenty of people watching, I didn't. I chewed his butt out all the way back to the real estate agent's office, plus I took his Game Boy for the next week. Later last night in Walgreens, he actually THOUGHT I would buy them a toy!! Ha!! I pointed out to him how awful he was, and that I wouldn't be rewarding that kind of behavior ever. Brat.

After that I left the world's brattiest children with Hubby and went to a walk-in clinic to see a doctor. I've been feeling sickly for a while, but it's been getting worse. I felt like I would either drown or cough up a lung if I breathed in too deep.

One chest x-ray, one antibiotic shot in my butt and $198 poorer, I left with three prescriptions and some sample drugs in my hand. Seems I have a sinus infection and bronchitis. I've never had bronchitis before, and I really don't recommend it. The antibiotics he gave me cost $7 each with insurance. I'd hate to see what they cost without it. He did say they'd kill most any bug lingering in my sinuses and lungs, though.

He also told me I needed to drink as much fluid as I could hold and that I needed to rest as much as possible. Ha!!! I told him I just moved into a new house and I have two kids and a husband. I really don't see much rest in my near future. Surprisingly, though, Hubby has been very good at letting me rest today. Right now he's taken the kids to get some lunch and get something at Lowe's. (Cinzel, they did let him use that coupon on the large purchase we'd made the night before.) In fact, it's 1:00 here, and this is the first time I've been out of bed other than to go to the bathroom or take some more medicine all day.

Hope everyone has a great New Year's Eve tonight! Cinzel, don't know if we'll make it over or not.


1 comments so far Heather - 2005-12-31 22:37:05
What a mess! I felt so sorry reading that. But, at least it's over, right? Congrats on the new home! Damn, you know, we should have met up while you still lived here.
-------------------------------

previous // next