Map IP Address
Powered byIP2Location.com

I'm crazy. It's the paint fumes, you know.

2005-12-22
8:12 p.m.

I formed yet another personal theory today. You know, the kind of thing that seems to be universally true in your own life, but you know it's not really true, even if you try to pretend it does?

Yeah, long-winded explanation to say: Having a penis equals a white-hot hatred of painting. And the lengths he will go to to avoid said painting involves all kind of comments on your own sanity and mental state, and sometimes even involves the use of other penis-bearing back-up opinions.

So yeah, an even longer-winded explanation to say I commented to Hubby on the phone this afternoon that I thought the sun room, the office, the den, the foyer, the stairwell, and all the baseboards downstairs needed painting. Everything except the kitchen and the bathroom.

Hubby acted like I suggested we hang the dog and give away our first-born. "WHAT? You got to be KIDDING ME!!! I am NOT painting the whole damn house!!!" And then he brought home a co-worker (under the guise of picking up some butane bottles) for reinforcement. And I promptly told his co-worker (whom I like very much) that his opinion did not count, because he was another man, and I didn't need another man's opinion, I needed a woman's opinion.

Eventually we came to the conclusion that: The whole sun room will be painted. The office will have the bottom half and the chair rail painted. (And a fair amount of the upper half touched up.) The base boards downstairs will all be painted. We will Mr. Clean sponge the rest of the walls and reassess (yeah, right) then. And the co-worker offered to come over and help. I like him even more now.

What they don't know is that I also plan on painting the pantry as well. It kind of needed painting when we moved in, and it really needs painted now. Kind of like the carpet...we knew it needed replacing, but we figured why bother now, we have young children, we'll do it in four or five years, maybe. Didn't know we'd be selling again this quick. When we do the carpet and refinish the wood floors upon moving out, we'll have redone all the floors in the house in our 2 1/2 years there.

I do feel a lot better about the house tonight, though, and I'm hopeful we can get quite a bit of painting done quickly tomorrow. My job will be to wash the walls and ooh and ahh over the great job they're doing.

The upstairs is in a lot better shape, so when I finish vacuuming and cleaning the window sills, blinds, etc. up there, I think I'll actually be pretty happy with it.

We are buying the new house from a crazy man. It's new construction, but we wanted to add another bedroom/office upstairs to the house. The contractor wanted to start on the project Tuesday, but the seller wanted another $4,500 in earnest money before he'd let them start. We scrambled to get another $4,500 in our account to send it. When we called our realtor to let him know it was there and we were overnighting the check, crazy guy had changed his mind and asked that we not start the renovation until after the close. Fine.

Today the realtor told Hubby the crazy man had had a change of heart and the renovation was begun today. Whatever.

Cinzel: I called and ordered another foot pedal for my transcriber. It's $98, shipped overnight, and Hubby said he'd pay $998 if it would keep me from bitching. Now I'll have three foot pedals. I may have to start selling them on E-Bay.

Over and out.


0 comments so far

previous // next